[hpc-announce] Call For Nominations: HPDC'23 Achievement Award

Zheng, Mai [E CPE] mai at iastate.edu
Tue Mar 21 23:29:48 CDT 2023

Call For Nominations: HPDC'23 Achievement Award
In 2012, HPDC established an annual achievement award, which is presented to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential contributions to the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC). These contributions may include one or more of the following:
*Conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation of HPDC systems or applications;
*Innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis of HPDC systems or applications;
*Design, implementation, and deployment of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications;
*Analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.
In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection Committee will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions and a sustained record of high-impact in the field.
Past Winners
2022: Franck Cappello for his pioneering contributions in methods, tools, and testbeds for resilient high performance parallel and distributed computing.
2021: Rosa Badia, for her innovations in parallel task-based programming models, workflow applications and systems, and leadership in the high performance computing research community.
2020: No winner
2019: Geoffrey Fox, for his foundational contributions to parallel computing, high-performance software, the interface between applications and systems, contributions to education, and outreach to underrepresented communities.
2018: Satoshi Matsuoka, for his pioneering research in the design, implementation, and application of high performance systems and software tools for parallel and distributed systems.
2017: David Abramson, for his pioneering research in the design, implementation, and application of high performance systems and software tools for parallel and distributed systems.
2016: Jack Dongarra, for his long-standing and far-reaching contributions in high performance linear algebra and large-scale parallel and distributed computing.
2015: Ewa Deelman, for her significant influence, contributions, and distinguished use of workflow systems in high-performance computing.
2014: Rich Wolski, for pioneering and high-impact contributions to grid, cloud, and parallel computing.
2013: Miron Livny, for his significant contribution and high impact in the area of high-throughput computing.
2012: Ian Foster, for his initiative in the creation and development of grid computing and his significant contributions to high-performance distributed computing in support of the sciences.
Achievement Award Talk
The award will be presented at the 32nd International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing in Orlando, Florida, United States, June 16 - June 23, 2023. The winner should be available to receive the award and present an achievement award talk at the conference.
Nomination for the 2023 Award
Candidates may nominate a colleague by sending a letter in PDF form to mailto:dthain at nd.edu. Each nomination received will be retained and considered by the committee for three consecutive years. The letter of nomination should be about one page and contain:
*The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
*A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
*A description of the technical contributions of the nominee and their significance and impact.
Important Dates
Nomination deadline: Wednesday, April 12, 2023
2023 Award Selection Committee
Ali Butt
Franck Cappello
Kyle Chard
Ningfang Mi
Douglas Thain
Devesh Tiwari
Jon Weissman
The award selection committee is chaired by a member of the HPDC steering committee and includes the General Chair(s) and the Program Committee Chair(s) of the current HPDC conference, and the previous year's award winner. An award committee member cannot be a nominator or be selected as the winner.
More info: https://www.hpdc.org/2023/awards/achievement-award/call-for-nominations/

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list