[hpc-announce] Call For Papers: XLOOP @ SC: Experiment-in-the-Loop Computing

Justin M Wozniak woz at anl.gov
Thu Jun 8 09:49:36 CDT 2023


                       == Call for Papers ==

5th Annual Workshop on Extreme-scale Experiment-in-the-Loop Computing

                            XLOOP 2023


At SC 2023 --- November 12, 2023 --- Denver, Colorado, USA

Continued advances in computational power and high-speed networking is

enabling a new model of scientific experiment, experiment-in-the-loop

computing (EILC).  In this model, high-end computing systems are closely

coupled to experimental and observational infrastructure, and the two

interact to drive a deeper understanding of physical phenomena.  At the

same time, advances and widespread adoption of machine learning enables

new ways to register and use experimental data.

Several research and development challenges are posed by this

multifaceted paradigm, many of which are independent of the particular

scientific application domain.  New algorithms to integrate simulation

outputs and experimental data sets must be developed. High performance

data management and transfer techniques must be developed to manage and

manipulate simulated and observed data sets.  Workflows must be

constructed with high levels of usability and understandability to

enable scientific post-analysis and improvement of the computing solution.

The Workshop on Experiment-in-the-Loop Computing (XLOOP 2023) will be a

unique opportunity to promote this cross-cutting, interdisciplinary

topic area.  We invite papers, presentations, and participants from

the physical and computer sciences, and encourage the sharing of

ideas from across these domains to find common solutions and

technologies to make rapid progress in EILC, so that many application

areas can easily adopt these methods.

The proceedings of the workshop will be submitted for publishing to IEEE 

Previous years' proceedings may be found here:

2022: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/conhome/10024591/proceeding

2021: https://www.computer.org/csdl/proceedings/xloop/2021/1zG2XAuTfyw

2020: https://www.computer.org/csdl/proceedings/xloop/2020/1pZ0UawOMkU

2019: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/conhome/8938158/proceeding

== Topics ==

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


    Machine learning applications in simulation or experiment control


    Case studies in EILC applications and solutions


    Data transfer techniques and technologies


    In situ analysis methods and tools relevant to experiment data


    Simulation and experiment validation methods and tools


    Workflow technologies to manage computation and experiment couplings


    Advanced systems architecture for EILC applications


    High-performance I/O methods and libraries


    Data integration and assimilation algorithms and technologies


    Performance evaluation in EILC applications and solutions


    Cyberinfrastructure and "big science" planning and reporting


    Portable solutions for reproducible, transferable experiments

== Paper Submission ==

Please submit novel papers with up to 6 pages in IEEE style via the SC 
submissions site. Deadlines are:

* Submissions due:                 August 18, 2023

* Author notification:             September 8, 2023

* Reproducibility info (optional): September 29, 2023

* Camera-ready version:            October 6, 2023

* Copyright submission:            October 6, 2023

* Presentation:                    October 27, 2023

* Workshop @ SC:                   November 12, AM, 2023

Templates may be found at the workshop web site.

Reproducibility: XLOOP participates in the reproducibility initiative.

Reproducibility data does not count against the XLOOP page requirement.

Details about this data are available at the XLOOP web site.

== Organization ==


Justin M Wozniak (Argonne National Laboratory) <woz at anl.gov 
<mailto:woz at anl.gov>>

Nicholas Schwarz (Argonne National Laboratory) <nschwarz at anl.gov 
<mailto:nschwarz at anl.gov>>

Steering committee:

Debbie Bard                    National Energy Research Scientific 
Computing Center

Eli Dart                       ESNetMallikarjun (Arjun) Shankar    Oak 
Ridge National Laboratory

Christine Sweeney              Los Alamos National Laboratory

Venkatram Vishwanath           Argonne National Laboratory

Program committee:

Tekin Bicer              Argonne National Laboratory

Stuart Campbell          Brookhaven National Laboratory

Rudolph Dimper           European Synchrotron Radiation Facility

Kjiersten Fagnan         Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Geoffrey Fox             Indiana University

Alex Hexemer             Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Tony Hey                 Science and Technology Facilities Council

Shantenu Jha             Brookhaven National Laboratory

Olga Kuchar              Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Jakob Luettgau           University of Tennessee Knoxville

Preeti Malakar           Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Bojan Nikolic            Square Kilometer Array, Cambridge

Marc F. Paterno          Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Thomas E. Proffen        Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Lavanya Ramakrishnan     Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Tobias Richter           European Spallation Source

Jana Thayer              SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Thomas D. Uram           Argonne National Laboratory


Justin M Wozniak

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list