[hpc-announce] HPDC Award: Call for Nominations

Kento Sato kento.sato at riken.jp
Sun Feb 23 23:05:17 CST 2020

HPDC Achievement Award 2020

In 2012, HPDC established an annual achievement award, which is presented
to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential contributions to
the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and
distributed computing (HPDC). These contributions may include one or more
of the following:

- conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation
of HPDC systems or applications;
- innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis
of HPDC systems or applications;
- the design, implementation, and deployment of
innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications;
- the analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.

In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection Committee
will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions and a sustained
record of high impact in the field.


- 2019: Geoffrey Fox, for his foundational contributions to parallel computing,
high-performance software, the interface between applications and systems,
contributions to education, and outreach to underrepresented communities.
- 2018: Satoshi Matsuoka, for his pioneering research in the design,
implementation, and application of high performance systems and software
tools for parallel and distributed systems.
- 2017: David Abramson, for his pioneering research in the design,
implementation, and application of high performance systems and software
tools for parallel and distributed systems.
- 2016: Jack Dongarra, for his long-standing and far-reaching contributions
in high performance linear algebra and large-scale parallel and distributed
- 2015: Ewa Deelman, for her significant influence, contributions, and
distinguished use of workflow systems in high-performance computing.
- 2014: Rich Wolski, for pioneering and high-impact contributions to grid,
cloud, and parallel computing.
- 2013: Miron Livny, for his significant contribution and high impact
in the area of high-throughput computing.
- 2012: Ian Foster, for his initiative in the creation and development of
grid computing and his significant contributions to high-performance
distributed computing in support of the sciences. 


The award will be presented at the 29th ACM Symposium on High-Performance
Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC) to be held in Stockholm from
June 23-26th, 2020.   The winner should be available to receive the award
in person and present an achievement award talk at the conference.


Candidates may nominate a colleague by sending a letter in PDF form
to dthain at nd.edu.  The letter of nomination should be about one page
and contain:

- The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
- A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the
most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
- A description of the technical contributions of the nominee
and their significance and impact.


Nomination deadline: Monday, March 16th, 2020


Geoffrey Fox
David Irwin
Kathryn Mohror
Manish Parashar
Douglas Thain
Vladimir Vlassov

The award selection committee is chaired by a member of the HPDC steering
committee and includes the General Chair(s) and the Program Committee Chair(s)
of the current HPDC conference, and the previous year's award winner.
An award committee member cannot be a nominator or be selected as the winner.

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list