[hpc-announce] CFP: Deadline of IWSG 2016 extended to 3 April 2016

Sandra Gesing sandra.gesing at nd.edu
Fri Mar 18 13:07:08 CDT 2016

* 8th International Workshop on Science Gateways *
* IWSG 2016 *
* 8-10 June 2016 in Rome, Italy *
* https://sites.google.com/a/nd.edu/iwsg2016/home *
We are honored to announce that Tristan Glatard, Federico Ruggieri and
Jeffrey Spies agreed to be the keynote speakers at IWSG 2016.

Accepted full papers will be published in PeerJ Computer Science as
open-access articles. Additionally, selected accepted papers at the
workshop will be invited to submit an extended version to a special issue
jointly organized with the US workshop on science gateways and the
Australasian workshop on science gateways.

Science gateways are a community-specific portals offering tools,
applications, and data collections that are integrated together, providing
access to data sources and services of distributed computing
infrastructures (DCIs). Science gateways offer the potential to facilitate
data analysis on a large scale and open the utilisation of DCIs to wider
audiences by providing a customised and easy to use user interface
accessing large computational and data resources. The complexity of the
underlying infrastructure can be completely hidden from the end-users by a
suitably tailored interface. As interest in science gateways has
accelerated in the past few years, an increasing number of new user
communities can utilise grid or cloud computing resources in a convenient
The workshop aims at bringing together researchers and scientists from
different scientific domains, along with science gateways developers, to
discuss problems and solutions in the area, to identify new issues, to
shape future directions for research, foster the exchange of ideas,
standards and common requirements and push towards the wider adoption of
science gateways in e-Science.

We invite the submission of papers related to various aspects of Science
Gateways. Suggested topics include, but are not limited to:

* Science gateway enabling technologies and development frameworks
* Ready to use science gateways in different areas and disciplines
* Management of high-throughput data via science gateways
* Portal technology and portal construction methods
* Usage models and gateway tools in different disciplines
* Security aspects of science gateways
* Usability studies of science gateways

We in particular encourage the submissions of application scientists and
community members, reporting about their experiences with science gateways.
There are three alternatives for researchers to present their work: talks,
lightning talks, and demonstration sessions. Submission of a full paper may
result in a talk, submission of an abstract may result in a lightning talk
or a demonstration. All contributions will be subject of a peer review
which will serve as basis for the decision of acceptance. Further details
of the call are available at https://sites.google.com/a/nd.edu/iwsg2016/home
Accepted full papers will be published in PeerJ Computer Science as
open-access articles and accepted abstracts will be published online on the
IWSG webpage.

Important dates:
• The deadline for paper/abstract submission: 3 April 2016
• Notification of acceptance: 24 April 2016
• Submission of camera ready papers/abstracts: 08 May, 2016
• Registration deadline for authors/presenters: 15 May, 2016
• Registration closing: 29 May 2016
• Date of the workshop: 8-10 June, 2016

For further details please visit the workshop website at

Sandra Gesing, University of Notre Dame, US
Jens Krüger, University of Tübingen, Germany

Program Committee (preliminary):
David Abramson, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Viktor Achter, University of Cologne, Germany
Akos Balasko, MTA SZTAKI, Hungary
Antun Balaz, Institute of Physics Belgrade, Serbia
Roberto Barbera, University of Catania and INFN, Italy
Michelle Barker, NeCTAR, Melbourne, Australia
Ugo Becciani, INAF Catania, Italy
Andrè Brinkmann, University of Mainz, Germany
Daniele D'Agostino, CNR-IMATI, Italy
Silvia Delgado Olabarriaga, Academic Medical Centre, Amsterdam, The
Zoltan Farkas, MTA SZTAKI, Hungary
Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, US
Sandra Gesing, University of Notre Dame, US
Helen Glaves, British Geological Survey, UK
Aaron Golden, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, US
Richard Grunzke, University of Dresden, Germany
Keith Jeffery, RDA, UK
Peter Kacsuk, MTA SZTAKI, Hungary
Joohyun Kim, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, US
Tamas Kiss, University of Westminster, London, UK
Dagmar Krefting, University of Applied Sciences, Berlin, Germany
Jens Krüger, University of Tübingen, Germany
Krzysztof Kurowski, PSNC, Poznan, Poland
Miklos Kozlovszky, MTA SZTAKI, Hungary
Daniele Lezzi, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
Robert Lovas, MTA SZTAKI, Hungary
Suresh Marru, Indiana University, US
David Meredith, STFC Daresbury Laboratory, UK
Ivan Merelli, CNR-ITB, Italy
Jarek Nabrzyski, University of Notre Dame, US
Horacio Perez-Sanchez, Universidad Católica San Antonio de Murcia, Spain
Gabriele Pierantoni, TCD, Dublin, Ireland
Marlon Pierce, Indiana University, US
Mats Rynge, University of Southern California, US
Cevat Sener, METU, Turkey
Richard Sinnott, University of Melbourne, Australia
Gergely Sipos, EGI.eu, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Ian Taylor, University of Cardiff, UK
James Taylor, Emory University, Atlanta, US
Gabor Terstyanszky, University of Westminster, UK
Chen Wang, CSIRO ICT Centre, Marsfield, Australia
Nancy Wilkins-Diehr, San Diego Supercomputing Center, US
Eric Yen, Academia Sinica Grid Computing Center, Taipei, Taiwan
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.mcs.anl.gov/mailman/private/hpc-announce/attachments/20160318/52b5a303/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list