[hpc-announce] DISC 2016 -- FIRST CALL FOR PAPERS

Swan Dubois swan.dubois at lip6.fr
Thu Mar 17 08:37:11 CDT 2016

[Apologies if you got multiple copies of this email]
[Do not hesitate to forward to your colleagues, students...]


30th International Symposium on Distributed Computing
September 26-29, 2016, Paris, France

DISC is the International Symposium on Distributed Computing, organized 
in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer 
Science (EATCS).

Important Dates

     Abstract Registration : May 3, 2016 (AoE)
     Paper Submission : May 10, 2016 (AoE)
     Notification : July 7, 2016
     Camera-Ready Submission : July 20, 2016
     Conference : September 26--29, 2016


Original contributions to theory, design, implementation, modeling, 
analysis, or application of distributed systems and networks are 
solicited. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
     - Distributed algorithms; correctness and complexity
     - Concurrency, synchronization, and transactional memory
     - Distributed operating systems, middleware, database systems
     - Self-stabilizing, self-organizing, and autonomous systems
     - Wireless, mobile, sensor and ad-hoc networks
     - Fault tolerance, reliability, availability
     - Game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
     - Specification, verification, and testing: tools, methodologies
     - Networks: protocols, architectures, services, applications
     - Multiprocessor and multicore architectures and algorithms
     - System on chip and network on chip architectures
     - Security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
     - Distributed computing issues in the Internet and the Web
     - Cloud and peer-to-peer computing
     - Software-defined networking and network functions virtualization
     - Mobile agents and autonomous robots


Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the guidelines on 
the conference web page. Submissions must be in English, in .pdf format, 
and begin with a cover page (not a cover letter) including: (1) title, 
(2) authors' names and affiliations, (3) contact author's email address, 
(4) a short abstract of the paper, (5) indication of whether this is a 
regular paper or a brief announcement, and (6) indication of whether the 
paper is eligible for the best student paper award.

A submission for a ***regular presentation*** must report on original    
research that has not previously appeared, and has not been concurrently 
submitted to a journal or conference with published proceedings. Any 
overlap with a published or concurrently submitted paper must be clearly 
indicated. A regular submission must not exceed 10 single-column pages 
using at least 11 point font on letter paper (excluding cover page and 
references). Authors are expected to include all the ideas necessary for 
an expert to verify the central claims in the paper. If necessary, the 
details may appear in a clearly marked appendix, which will be read at 
the discretion of the program committee.

A ***brief announcement*** submission must not exceed 2 pages in the 
same format. The material in brief announcements can be published in 
other conferences. Submissions not conforming to these rules and papers 
outside of the scope of the conference will be rejected without 
consideration. If requested by the authors on the cover page, a regular 
submission that is not selected for a regular presentation can be 
considered for the brief announcements track. Such a request will not 
affect consideration of the paper for a regular presentation.


The proceedings will be published as a volume in the ARCoSS Springer 
Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Camera-ready versions of 
accepted papers must be submitted in the LNCS format. Accepted papers 
must be presented by one of the paper's authors, at the conference site, 
and according to the final schedule. Any paper accepted into the 
technical program but not presented on-site will be withdrawn from the 
official proceedings archived on Springer.


Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. To be 
eligible for the best student paper award at least one of the paper 
authors must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the 
student(s) must have made a significant contribution to the paper.

Program Committee

     Silvia Bonomi, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy
     Carole Delporte-Gallet, Paris-Diderot University, France
     Swan Dubois, UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France
     Michael Elkin, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
     Godard Emmanuel, Aix-Marseille University, France
     Panagiota Fatourou, FORTH ICS & Crete University, Greece
     Pascal Felber, Neuchâtel University, Switzerland
     Paola Flocchini, Ottawa University, Canada
     Cyril Gavoille (chair), Bordeaux University, France
     Chryssis Georgiou, Cyprus University, Cyprus
     Seth Gilbert, National University of Singapore, Singapore
     Vincent Gramoli, Sydney University, Australia
     Rachid Guerraoui, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
     Magnús M. Halldórsson, Reykjavik University, Island
     David Ilcinkas, CNRS & Bordeaux University, France
     Matthew P. Johnson, CUNY Graduate Center, USA
     Christoph Lenzen, MPI for Informatics, Germany
     Toshimitsu Masuzawa, Osaka University, Japan
     Mikhail Nesterenko, Kent State University, USA
     Paolo Penna, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, 
     Luís Rodrigues, Lisbona University, Portugal
     Elad M. Schiller, Chalmers University, Sweden
     Johannes Schneider, ABB Corp. Research, Switzerland
     Christian Sommer, Apple Inc., USA
     Jennifer L. Welch Texas A&M University, USA
     Philipp Woelfel, Calgary University, Canada

Organizing Committee

     Lélia Blin (logistic chair), Evry University, France
     Swan Dubois (publicity chair), UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France
     David Ilcinkas (proceedings chair), CNRS & Bordeaux University, France
     Colette Johnen (workshop chair), Bordeaux University, France
     Petr Kouznetsov (sponsoring chair) Telecom ParisTech, France
     Maria Potop-Butucaru (general chair), UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France
     Stéphane Rovedakis (web chair), Conservatoire National des Arts et 
Métiers, France

Steering Committee

     Roberto Baldoni, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy
     Keren Censor-Hillel, Technion, Israel
     Shlomi Dolev (chair), Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
     Cyril Gavoille, Bordeaux University, France
     Fabian Kuhn,      Freiburg University, Germany
     Yoram Moses, Technion, Israel
     Achour Mostefaoui, Nantes University, France

Contact Information

If you have any question about the CFP and paper submission, please 
email to gavoille at labri.fr.

UPMC Sorbonne Universités
DISC 2016 Publicity Chair

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list