[hpc-announce] Call For Nominations: ACM HPDC Achievement Award 2022

Ali Anwar ali at vt.edu
Wed Mar 9 12:54:28 CST 2022

Call For Nominations: ACM HPDC Achievement Award 2022

In 2012, HPDC established an annual achievement award, which is
presented to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential
contributions to the foundations or practice of the field of
high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC). These
contributions may include one or more of the following:
- conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation of
HPDC systems or applications;
- innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis of HPDC
systems or applications;
- the design, the implementation, and the deployment of innovative
(components of) HPDC systems or applications;
- the analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.

In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection
Committee will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions and
a sustained record of high-impact in the field.

Past Winners:
- 2021: Rosa Badia, for her innovations in parallel task-based
programming models, workflow applications and systems, and leadership
in the high performance computing research community.
- 2020: No winner
- 2019: Geoffrey Fox, for his foundational contributions to parallel
computing, high-performance software, the interface between
applications and systems, contributions to education, and outreach to
underrepresented communities.
- 2018: Satoshi Matsuoka, for his pioneering research in the design,
implementation, and application of high performance systems and
software tools for parallel and distributed systems.
- 2017: David Abramson, for his pioneering research in the design,
implementation, and application of high performance systems and
software tools for parallel and distributed systems.
- 2016: Jack Dongarra, for his long-standing and far-reaching
contributions in high performance linear algebra and large-scale
parallel and distributed computing.
- 2015: Ewa Deelman, for her significant influence, contributions, and
distinguished use of workflow systems in high-performance computing.
- 2014: Rich Wolski, for pioneering and high-impact contributions to
grid, cloud, and parallel computing.
- 2013: Miron Livny, for his significant contribution and high impact
in the area of high-throughput computing.
- 2012: Ian Foster, for his initiative in the creation and development
of grid computing and his significant contributions to
high-performance distributed computing in support of the sciences.

Achievement Award Talk:
The award will be presented at the 31st International Symposium on
High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing in Minneapolis,
Minnesota, United States, June 27 - July 1, 2022. The winner should be
available to receive the award and present an achievement award talk
at the conference.

Nominations for the 2022 Award:
Candidates may nominate a colleague by sending a letter in PDF form to
dthain at nd.edu. Each nomination received will be retained and
considered by the committee for three consecutive years. The letter of
nomination should be about one page and contain:
1. The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
2. A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most
salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
3. A description of the technical contributions of the nominee and
their significance and impact.

Important Dates:
Nomination deadline: Wednesday, March 31th, 2022

2022 Award Selection Committee:
- Rosa Badia
- Jon Weissman
- Abhishek Chandra
- Ada Gavrilovska
- Devesh Tiwari
- Douglas Thain

The award selection committee is chaired by a member of the HPDC
steering committee and includes the General Chair(s) and the Program
Committee Chair(s) of the current HPDC conference, and the previous
year's award winner. An award committee member cannot be a nominator
or be selected as the winner.

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list