[hpc-announce] Call for Papers: XLOOP @ SC 2022: Experiment-in-the-Loop Computing

Justin Wozniak woz at anl.gov
Fri Jun 17 15:50:00 CDT 2022

                            == Call for Papers ==

    4th Annual Workshop on Extreme-scale Experiment-in-the-Loop 
Computing (XLOOP 2022)
             At SC 2022 --- November 14, 2022 --- Dallas, Texas, USA

Continued advances in computational power and high-speed networking is
enabling a new model of scientific experiment, experiment-in-the-loop
computing (EILC).  In this model, high-end computing systems are closely
coupled to experimental and observational infrastructure, and the two
interact to drive a deeper understanding of physical phenomena. At the
same time, advances and widespread adoption of machine learning enables
new ways to register and use experimental data.

Several research and development challenges are posed by this
multifaceted paradigm, many of which are independent of the particular
scientific application domain.  New algorithms to integrate simulation
outputs and experimental data sets must be developed. High performance
data management and transfer techniques must be developed to manage and
manipulate simulated and observed data sets.  Workflows must be
constructed with high levels of usability and understandability to
enable scientific post-analysis and improvement of the computing solution.

The Workshop on Experiment-in-the-Loop Computing (XLOOP 2022) will be a
unique opportunity to promote this cross-cutting, interdisciplinary
topic area.  We invite papers, presentations, and participants from
the physical and computer sciences, and encourage the sharing of
ideas from across these domains to find common solutions and
technologies to make rapid progress in EILC, so that many application
areas can easily adopt these methods.

The proceedings of the workshop will be submitted for publishing to IEEE 

Previous years' proceedings may be found here:
2021: https://www.computer.org/csdl/proceedings/xloop/2021/1zG2XAuTfyw
2020: https://www.computer.org/csdl/proceedings/xloop/2020/1pZ0UawOMkU
2019: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/conhome/8938158/proceeding

== Topics ==

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Machine learning applications in simulation or experiment control
Case studies in EILC applications and solutions
Data transfer techniques and technologies
In situ analysis methods and tools relevant to experiment data
Simulation and experiment validation methods and tools
Workflow technologies to manage computation and experiment couplings
Advanced systems architecture for EILC applications
High-performance I/O methods and libraries
Data integration and assimilation algorithms and technologies
Performance evaluation in EILC applications and solutions
Cyberinfrastructure and "big science" planning and reporting
Portable solutions for reproducible, transferable experiments

== Paper Submission ==

Please submit novel papers with up to 6 pages in IEEE style via the SC 
submissions site. Deadlines are:

* Submissions due:                     July 29, 2022
* Author notification:                 September 10, 2022
* Reproducibility info (optional) due: September 30, 2022
* Camera-ready version:                September 30, 2022
* Copyright submission:                September 30, 2022
* Presentation:                        October 31, 2022
* Workshop @ SC:                       PM, Monday, Nov. 14, 2022

Templates may be found at the workshop web site.

Reproducibility: XLOOP participates in the reproducibility initiative.  
Reproducibility data does not count against the XLOOP page requirement.  
Details about this data are available at the XLOOP web site.

== Organization ==


Justin M Wozniak    Argonne National Laboratory
Nicholas Schwarz    Argonne National Laboratory

Contact us at xloop-chairs at lists.dsl.anl.gov .

Steering committee:

Debbie Bard                  National Energy Research Scientific 
Computing Center
Eli Dart                     ESNet
Mallikarjun (Arjun) Shankar  Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Christine Sweeney            Los Alamos National Laboratory
Venkatram Vishwanath         Argonne National Laboratory

Program committee:

Tekin Bicer             Argonne National Laboratory
Stuart Campbell         Brookhaven National Laboratory
Rudolph Dimper          European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
Geoffrey Fox            Indiana University
Alex Hexemer            Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Tony Hey                Science and Technology Facilities Council
Shantenu Jha            Brookhaven National Laboratory
Bojan Nikolic           Square Kilometer Array, Cambridge
Marc F. Paterno         Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Thomas E. Proffen       Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Lavanya Ramakrishnan    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Tobias Richter          European Spallation Source
Jana Thayer             SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Thomas D. Uram          Argonne National Laboratory

Justin M Wozniak

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list