[hpc-announce] ACM HPDC Achievement Award 2021 - CALL FOR NOMINATIONS (Deadline: March 31th, 2021)

Kento Sato kento.sato at riken.jp
Tue Mar 2 22:54:52 CST 2021

                 Call For Nominations: HPDC Achievement Award 2021

In 2012, HPDC established an annual achievement award, which is presented to an individual who has made long-lasting, 
influential contributions to the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC). 
These contributions may include one or more of the following:

	• conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation of HPDC systems or applications;
	• innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis of HPDC systems or applications;
	• the design, the implementation, and the deployment of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications;
	• the analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.

In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection Committee will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions
and a sustained record of high-impact in the field.

== Past Winners ==
	• 2020: No winner
	• 2019: Geoffrey Fox, for his foundational contributions to parallel computing, high-performance software, the interface between applications and systems, contributions to education, and outreach to underrepresented communities.
	• 2018: Satoshi Matsuoka, for his pioneering research in the design, implementation, and application of high performance systems and software tools for parallel and distributed systems.
	• 2017: David Abramson, for his pioneering research in the design, implementation, and application of high performance systems and software tools for parallel and distributed systems.
	• 2016: Jack Dongarra, for his long-standing and far-reaching contributions in high performance linear algebra and large-scale parallel and distributed computing.
	• 2015: Ewa Deelman, for her significant influence, contributions, and distinguished use of workflow systems in high-performance computing.
	• 2014: Rich Wolski, for pioneering and high-impact contributions to grid, cloud, and parallel computing.
	• 2013: Miron Livny, for his significant contribution and high impact in the area of high-throughput computing.
	• 2012: Ian Foster, for his initiative in the creation and development of grid computing and his significant contributions to high-performance distributed computing in support of the sciences.

== Achievement Award Talk ==
The award will be presented at the 30th International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing in Stockholm (online), Sweden, 21-25 June 2021. The winner should be available to receive the award online and present an achievement award talk at the conference.

== Nominations for the 2021 Award ==
Candidates may nominate a colleague by sending a letter in PDF form to dthain at nd.edu. The letter of nomination should be about one page and contain:

	• The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
	• A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
	• A description of the technical contributions of the nominee and their significance and impact.

== Important Dates ==
Nomination deadline:  Wednesday, March 31th, 2021

== 2021 Award Selection Committee ==
	• Geoffrey Fox
	• Erwin Laure
	• Stefano Markidis
	• Ana Lucia Varbanescu
	• Gerald F. Lofstead
	• Douglas Thain

The award selection committee is chaired by a member of the HPDC steering committee and includes the General Chair(s) and the Program Committee Chair(s) of the current HPDC conference, and the previous year's award winner. An award committee member cannot be a nominator or be selected as the winner.

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list