[hpc-announce] CFP- Programming using Directives (WACCPD 2019) (in conjunction with SC19) November 18, 2019-Extended deadline to 6th September, 2019 (AOE)

neelima reddy reddy_neelima at yahoo.com
Fri Aug 30 04:42:06 CDT 2019

======================================================================== Sixth Workshop on Accelerator Programming using Directives (WACCPD 2019) (in conjunction with SC19) November 18, 2019 - https://waccpd.org ======================================================================== 
Call for Papers (Paper submission deadline extended to 6th September, 2019 AOE (Firm Deadline)
The ever-increasing heterogeneity in supercomputing applications has given rise to complex compute node architectures offering multiple, heterogeneous levels of massive parallelism. As a result, the 'X' in MPI+X demands more focus. Exploiting the maximum available parallelism out of such systems necessitates sophisticated programming approaches that can provide scalable as well as portable solutions without compromising on performance. A programmer's expectation from the scientific community is to deliver solutions that would allow maintenance of a single code base whenever possible avoiding duplicate effort. 

Raising the abstraction of the code is one of the effective methodologies to reduce the burden on the programmer while improving productivity. Software abstraction-based programming models, such as OpenMP and OpenACC, have been serving this purpose over the past several years as the compiler technology steadily improves. These programming models address the 'X' component by providing programmers with high-level directive-based approaches to accelerate and port scientific applications to heterogeneous platforms. 

Recent architectural trends indicate a heavy reliance of future Exascale machines on accelerators for performance. Toward this end, the workshop will highlight the improvements over state-of-art through the accepted papers and prompt discussion through keynote/panel that draws the community's attention to key areas that will facilitate the transition to accelerator-based high- performance computing (HPC). The workshop aims to showcase all aspects of heterogeneous systems discussing innovative high-level language features, lessons learned while using directives to migrate scientific legacy code to parallel processors, compilation and runtime scheduling techniques among others. 

WACCPD2019 will be co-located with SC19, Denver. In the past five years of this workshop, WACCPD has been one of the major forums at SC to bring together programming model users, developers, and tools community to share knowledge and experiences to tackle emerging complex parallel computing systems. 

Topics of interest for workshop submissions include (but are not limited to) -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Programming experiences porting applications in any scientific domain 
* Compiler and runtime support for current and emerging architectures 
(e.g. heterogeneous architectures, low-power processors) 
* Experiences in implementing compilers for accelerator directives on newer architectures 
* Language-based extensions and its prototype for directive-based programming models 
* Abstract handling of complex/heterogeneous memory hierarchies
* Extensions to and shortcomings of current directives for heterogeneous systems 
* Comparisons against lower or higher-level abstractions 
* Application performance evaluation, validation, and lessons learned 
* Modeling, verification and performance analysis tools 
* Auto-tuning and optimization strategies 
* Parallel computing using hybrid programming paradigms (e.g. MPI, OpenMP, OpenACC, OpenSHMEM) 
* Asynchronous execution and scheduling (task-based approaches) 
* Scientific libraries interoperability with directive-based models 
* Power/energy studies and solutions targeting accelerators or heterogeneous systems

Workshop Important Deadlines 
Submission Deadline: August 22, 2019, extended to 30th August, 2019, extended to 6th September, 2019 AOE (Firm Deadline)
Author notification: September 30, 2019 
Workshop Ready Deadline: October 10, 2019 AOE 
Camera Ready papers due: December 10, 2019 AoE 

Submission Process & Proceedings 
WACCPD papers will be peer-reviewed and selected for presentation at the workshop. The paper presented will be published as post-proceedings in Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) with Springer. Papers should be submitted electronically via the SC19 Submission Page (https://submissions.supercomputing.org/?page=Submit&id=SC19WorkshopWACCPDSubmission&site=sc19) and follow the Springer LNCS format. Submissions are limited to 20 pages. The 20-page limit includes figures, tables, and appendices, but does not include references, for which there is no page limit. Authors are encouraged to provide an artifact appendix similar to SC19's reproducibility initiative. If an Artifact Description (AD) is provided, the paper is considered to get the Best Paper Award.

Further information can be found on the WACCPD web page: https://www.waccpd.org 

Sandra Wienke (RWTH Aachen University, Germany) and Sridutt Bhalachandra (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA), WACCPD Program Chairs Email: organizers at waccpd.org 

Steering Committee 
* Barbara Chapman (Stony Brook, USA) 
* Duncan Poole (OpenACC, USA) 
* Jeffrey Vetter (ORNL, USA) 
* Kuan-Ching Li (Providence University, Taiwan) 
* Oscar Hernandez (ORNL, USA)

Program Committee 
* Adrian Jackson (Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre, University of Edinburgh, UK) 
* Andreas Herten (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany) 
* Arpith Jacob (Google, USA) 
* Cheng Wang (Microsoft, USA) 
* Chris J. Newburn (NVIDIA, USA) 
* Christian Iwainsky (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany) 
* Christian Terboven (RWTH Aachen University, Germany) 
* Christopher Daley (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA) 
* David Bernholdt (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA) 
* Giuseppe Congiu (Argonne National Laboratory, USA) 
* Haoqiang Jin (NASA-Ames, USA) 
* Jeff Larkin (NVIDIA, USA) 
* Kelvin Li (IBM, USA) 
* Manisha Gajbe (Intel, USA) 
* Michael Wolfe (NVIDIA/PGI, USA) 
* Ray Sheppard (Indiana University, USA) 
* Ron Lieberman (AMD, USA) 
* Ronan Keryell (Xilinx, USA) 
* Seyong Lee (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA) 
* Simon Hammond (Sandia National Laboratories, USA) 
* Sameer Shende (University of Oregon, USA) 
* Thomas Schwinge (Mentor Graphics, Germany) 
* Tom Scogland (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA) 
* William Sawyer (CSCS, Switzerland)

Publicity Chair: 
Neelima Bayyapu (NMAM Institute of Technology, Karnataka, India) 

Web Chair: 
Shu-Mei Tseng (University of California, Irvine, USA)

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list