[hpc-announce] Final CFP: IWAC 2018 (correction)

Lofstead, Gerald F II gflofst at sandia.gov
Thu Mar 29 13:33:28 CDT 2018

Submission deadline is April 2, 2018 AoE. Sorry for the confusion.

Call for Papers:

The 1st Workshop on Infrastructure for Workflows and Application Composition (IWAC 2018) will be held in Tempe, Arizona on June 12, 2018. IWAC '18 is associated with the 27th Annual ACM High Performance and Distributed Computing (ACM HPDC 2018) and is sponsored by the ACM. This workshop will be one of the major venues for researchers to present novel approaches, results, and ideas on computing infrastructure to facilitate the performance and functionality of large scale workflows and composite applications.

Organizations are increasingly leveraging workflows and composite applications to enrich a large number of workload classes, such as traditional large-scale science applications to big data and machine learning. Additionally, the growing size and complexity of the machines on which these applications run has imposed scalability limits on many applications that use a more traditional "bulk synchronous" compute model. Increasingly, researchers are looking for ways to integrate these technologies from different domains to glean greater insights and to improve performance and resilience for their applications. While advancements have been made in recent years, technologies enabling the full spectrum of application construction environments are largely either missing, primitive, niche, or research prototypes. 

This workshop contributes by exploring the various technological infrastructure needs to support effective, convenient workflow systems and application composition structures and approaches across a broad spectrum of HPC environments from clusters to supercomputers to cloud systems.

Topics of Interest Include:
- System software/OS features to enable workflow tools and application composition
- Programming support for assembling workflows or connecting application components
- Reusable components intended as either "glue'' between workflow components or for analysis or other processing
- Front end systems for configuring or controlling workflows
- Storage (both disk and in compute area) support for buffering between components
- Workflow engines designed to simplify workflow construction for end users
- Programming support for addressing data format/contents mismatch
- Programming support for resource management
- Communication and/or data exchange mechanisms 
- Application-specific workflow implementations
- Other system support for mechanisms to support combining multiple application components into a composite application or workflow

Important Dates:
Submission Deadline: April 2, 2018
Responses to Authors: May 6, 2018
Camera Ready due: May 11, 2018

Paper Submissions:
All manuscripts will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Submissions should be a complete manuscript or, in special cases, may be a summary of relevant work. Manuscript for full paper should be not exceed 5 single-spaced, double-column pages using 10-point size font on 8.5X11 inch pages (ACM conference style) including everything except references. 

Papers are to be submitted electronically in PDF format through EasyChair. Submitted papers should not have appeared in or be under consideration for a different workshop, conference or journal. It is also expected that all accepted papers will be presented at the workshop by one of the authors. 


Organiziers and Program Co-Chairs:
Jay Lofstead (Sandia National Labs)
Jai Dayal (Intel)

Program Committee:
Gagan Agrawal (OSU) 
Ilkay Altintas (SDSC) 
Rosa Badia (Barcelona)
Wes Bethel (LBL)
Christopher Carothers (RPI) 
Ewa Deelman (USC ISI) 
Dmitry Duplyakin (Utah) 
Rosa Filgueira (British Geological Survey) 
Henry Gabb (Intel) 
Balazs Gerofi (Riken)
Bingsheng He (Singapore) 
Shadi Ibrahim (INRIA)
Kerstin Kleese van Dam (BNL)
Brian Kocoloski (WUSTL)
Julian Kunkel (DKRZ)
Jack Lange (U Pitt) 
David Montoya (LANL) 
Kevin Pedretti (SNL)
Tom Peterka (ANL)
Matthew Wolf (ORNL)
Justin Wozniak (ANL) 
Andrew Younge (SNL)

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list