[hpc-announce] CfP: ARRAY 2017: 4th ACM SIGPLAN International Workshop on Libraries, Languages and Compilers for Array Programming

Andreas Kloeckner andreask at illinois.edu
Fri Feb 24 01:12:30 CST 2017


4th ACM SIGPLAN International Workshop on
Libraries, Languages and Compilers for
Array Programming

Barcelona, Spain - June 18, 2017

DEADLINE: April 3, 2017

ARRAY 2017 is part of PLDI 2017

38th Annual ACM SIGPLAN Conference on
Programming Language Design and Implementation




Array-oriented programming unites two uncommon properties. As an abstraction,
it directly mirrors high-level mathematical abstractions common in the
sciences. As a language feature, it exposes regular control flow, exhibits
structured data dependencies, and lends itself to many types of program
analysis. Further, many modern computer architectures, including GPUs,
incorporate features for the efficient execution of array operations.

This workshop is intended to bring together researchers from many different
communities, including language designers, library developers, compiler
researchers and practitioners who are working on numeric, array-centric aspects
of programming languages, libraries and methodologies from all domains:
imperative or declarative, object-oriented or not, interpreted or compiled,
strongly typed, weakly typed or untyped.


-   Array, graph, and tensor abstractions

-   Compilers and libraries for array and graph programs on
    distributed/shared memory parallel computers

-   Building-blocks for (dense and sparse) matrix/tensor algorithms

-   Compiler transformations and intermediate languages for array

-   Systematic array notation, including axis- and index-based

-   Representation of mathematical structure, including sparsity, rank,
    and hierarchy

Array programming is at home in many communities, including language design,
library development, optimization, scientific computing, and across many
existing language communities. ARRAY is intended as a forum where these
communities can exchange ideas on the construction of computational tools for


Important Dates:

* Paper submissions:            Apr 3, 2017 (anywhere on earth),
  traditionally extend to       Apr 10, 2017

* Notification of authors:      May 4, 2017
* Camera-ready copies due:      May 10, 2017 (anywhere on earth)
* Workshop date:                June 18, 2017



Manuscripts may fall into one of the following categories:

*   research papers on any topic related to the focus of the workshop
*   tool descriptions reporting on a tool relevant to the workshop area

Submissions should be 4-8 pages for research papers and 4-6 pages for tool descriptions.

In the case of a tool description the workshop presentation should include a
demo of the tool, and the submission should include a short appendix
summarizing the tool demo. This appendix is for the information of the PC only,
and will not be part of the published paper, nor does it count into the six
page limit.

Clearly mark your submission as either a research paper or a tool description
in the paper's subtitle.

Submissions must be in PDF format printable in black and white on US Letter
sized paper and interpretable by Ghostscript. Papers must adhere to the
standard SIGPLAN conference format: two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point
baseline, with columns 20pc (3.33in) wide and 54pc (9in) tall, with a column
gutter of 2pc (0.33in). A suitable document template for LaTeX is available at

Papers must be submitted using EasyChair:

As in previous years, accepted papers will be published in the ACM Digital Library.


Organizing Committee:

* David A Padua(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) (co-chair)
* Andreas Kloeckner (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) (co-chair)
* Edgar Solomonik (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
* Clemens Grelck (Informatics Institute, University of Amsterdam)
* Martin Elsman (University of Copenhagen)


Program Committee:

* Paolo Bientinesi (RWTH Aachen)
* Aydin Buluc (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
* Martin Elsman (Department of Computer Science, University of Copenhagen)
* Franz Franchetti (Carnegie Mellon University)
* Clemens Grelck (University of Amsterdam)
* Tobias Grosser (ETH Zurich)
* Amir Kamil (University of Michigan)
* Andreas Kloeckner (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
* Hidehiko Masuhara (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
* David Padua (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
* Mary Sheeran (Chalmers University)
* Edgar Solomonik (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
* Jan Vitek (Northeastern University)


More information about the hpc-announce mailing list