[hpc-announce] International Symposium on Fog and Edge Computing (ISFEC'2017) - Call for Papers

Rajkumar Buyya rbuyya at unimelb.edu.au
Wed Oct 26 21:30:12 CDT 2016

The 1st IEEE/ACM* International Symposium on Fog and Edge Computing 

Madrid, May 14th 2017


*ISFEC 2017 registrations are integral part of CCGrid 2017 sponsored by 


The organizing committee is delighted to invite you to Madrid for the 
1st International Symposium on Fog and Edge Computing. The Symposium 
will be held as part of/in conjunction with IEEE/ACM CCGrid, which is 
sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society and ACM (Association for 
Computing Machinery).

To satisfy the ever increasing demand for Cloud Computing resources, 
academics and industry experts are now advocating for going from 
large-centralized Cloud Computing infrastructures to smaller ones, 
massively distributed at the edge of the network. Referred to as 
"fog/edge computing", this paradigm is expected to improve the agility 
of cloud service deployments in addition to bringing computing resources 
closer to end-users. Co-located with the IEEE/ACM International 
Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid) in Madrid, Spain 
on May 14th 2017, the first International Symposium on Fog and Edge 
Computing will be a forum gathering a large community around all the 
challenges related to this new generation of Utility Computing. On the one
hand, the development of Fog and Edge clouds includes dedicated 
facilities, operating system, network and middleware techniques to build 
and operate a set of small and geographically distant data centers that 
host virtualized computing resources. On the other hand, the use of Fog 
and Edge clouds require to extend current programming models and to 
propose new abstractions that will allow developers to design new 
applications that take benefit from such massively
distributed systems.

The conference seeks to attract theoretical and technical contributions 
to any of the aforementioned challenges, from the management software 
stack to domain-specific applications.


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

   * Data centers and infrastructures for Fog/Edge Computing
   * Middleware for Fog/Edge infrastructures
   * Programming models and runtime systems for Fog/Edge Computing
   * Scheduling for Fog/Edge infrastructures
   * Fog/Edge storage
   * Monitoring/metering of Fog/Edge infrastructures
   * Fog/Edge Computing applications
   * Latency/locality-critical applications
   * Legal issues in Fog/Edge clouds


   * Technical papers submission deadline: Dec. 16th, 2016
   * Authors notifications: Feb. 8th, 2017
   * Camera-ready paper: Feb. 26th, 2017


Authors are invited to submit papers electronically in PDF format. 
Submitted manuscripts should be structured as technical papers and may 
not exceed 10 letter-size (8.5 x 11) pages including all figures, tables 
and references using the IEEE format for conference proceedings. See 
formatting templates for details:


Submissions not conforming to these guidelines may be returned without 
review. The official language of the conference is English. All 
manuscripts will be reviewed and judged on technical strength, 
originality, significance, quality of presentation, and interest and 
relevance to the conference attendees.  The proceedings will be 
published through the IEEE Computer Society Conference
Publishing Services. Submitted papers must represent original 
unpublished research that is not currently under review for any other 
conference or journal. Papers not following these guidelines will be 
rejected without review and further action may be taken, including (but 
not limited to) notifications sent to the heads of the institutions of 
the authors and sponsors of the conference. Submissions received after 
the due date, exceeding the page limit, or not appropriately structured 
may not be considered.

Submission Link:



Proceedings will be published through the IEEE Computer Society 
Conference Publishing Services.  Paper submitted could be accepted as 
REGULAR paper (10 pages) or SHORT papers (6 pages), depending on the 
review scores.


   * General Chairs:
     - Omer Rana (Cardiff University, UK)
     - Rajkumar Buyya (University of Melbourne, Australia)
     - Ashiq Anjum (University of Derby, UK)

   * Program Chairs:
     - Anthony Simonet (Inria, France)
     - Shangguang Wang (Beijing University of Posts and 
Telecommunications, China)
     - Adrien Lebre (Inria, France)

   * Program Committee Members
     - Frederico Alvares De Oliveira (Ecole des Mines Nantes, Inria, France)
     - Luis Antunes Veiga (Technical University of Lisbon, INESC-ID, 
     - Luiz F. Bittencourt (University of Campinas, USA)
     - Jesus Carretero (University of Madrid, Spain)
     - Yvonne Coady (University of Victoria, Canada)
     - Helene Coullon (Ecoles des Mines de Nantes, Inria, France)
     - Thierry Coupaye (Orange Labs, France)
     - Frederic Desprez (Inria, France)
     - Javier Diaz-Montes (Rutgers University, USA)
     - Gilles Fedak (Inria, University of Lyon, France)
     - Renato Figueiredo (University of Florida, USA)
     - Matthew Forshaw (Newcastle University, UK)
     - Harshit Gupta (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
     - Philipp Leitner (University Of Zurich, Switzerland)
     - Manolis Marazakis (ICS-Forth, Greece)
     - Christine Morin (Inria, France)
     - Satish Narayana Srirama  (University of Tartu, Estonia)
     - Benoit Parrein (University of Nantes, France)
     - Ioan Petri (School of Engineering, Cardiff University, UK)
     - Guillaume Pierre (IRISA, University of Rennes, France)
     - Aravinda Rao (University of Melbourne, France)
     - Stefan Schulte (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
     - Stefano Secci (LIP6 UPMC, France)
     - Wei Tan (IBM, USA)
     - Rafael Tolosana-Calasanz (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
     - Amir Vahid Dastjerdi (University of Melbourne, Australia)
     - Zibin Zheng (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

   * Publicity chair:
     - Carlos Westphall (University of Santa Catarina, Brazil)

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list