[hpc-announce] CFP OPODIS 2015 : 19th International Conference on Principles of Distributed Systems

Romaric Ludinard romaric.ludinard at inria.fr
Tue Jun 2 09:49:23 CDT 2015

We apologize in advance if you receive multiple copies of this CFP.

========================= *CALL FOR PAPERS* ============================

The 19th International Conference on Principles of Distributed Systems

14-17 Dec, Rennes


  Abstract registration:          24 August 2015
  Submission deadline:            31 August 2015
  Acceptance notification:        5 Nov 2015
  Final version due:              19 Nov 2015
  Conference:                     14-17 Dec 2015, Rennes


OPODIS is an open forum for the exchange of knowledge on distributed
computing and distributed computer systems. All aspects of distributed
systems are within the scope of OPODIS, including theory, specification,
design, performance, and system building. With strong roots in the
theory of distributed systems, OPODIS covers nowadays the whole range
between the theoretical aspects and practical implementations of
distributed systems, as well as experimentation and quantitative


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
-Algorithms for distributed systems (static or dynamic) and their
-Cluster, cloud, grid and high-performance computing;
-Distributed operating systems, middleware, and database systems;
-Communication networks (protocols, architectures, services, applications);
-Cryptographic protocols and security mechanisms;
-Fault tolerance, reliability, availability;
-Internet applications, social systems, peer-to-peer and overlay networks;
-Self-* solutions for distributed systems;
-Mobile and wireless computing and sensor networks;
-Mobile agents and autonomous robots.


OPODIS 2015 will have post-proceedings available after the conference,
which allows for modifications based on the discussion during the
conference.  Preliminary versions of the proceedings will be available
to participants at the conference electronically.

The proceedings will be published by
  LIPIcs: Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics
LIPIcs proceedings are available online and free of charge, in the model of
Gold Open Access.

Selected papers from the conference will be invited to the following
-Theoretical Computer Science (Elsevier)
-Computing (Springer)
-Operating Systems Review (ACM SIGOPS)


Detailed instructions for paper submission will appear in June 2015 on
the conference website


OPODIS 2015 will feature selected tutorials, covering research subjects
in the scope of the conference.

Experts in the domains covered by OPODIS are invited to share their
expertise with the community by submitting proposals for tutorials. The
duration of a tutorial is one session (90 to 120 minutes), including
time for questions.

A tutorial proposal should not exceed three (3) pages in length using a
11pt font size. It must include the following information:

-The title of the tutorial;
-An abstract of the tutorial content;
-A brief statement of the relevance of the tutorial to OPODIS;
-The name(s), e-mail address(es) and affiliation(s) of the presenter(s);
-The biography and relevant publications of the presenter(s);
-If the authors will consider submitting an abstract of the tutorial (see
-When applicable, if and where the tutorial has already been given in
the past.

Presenters of tutorials will be given the possibility to publish an
extended abstract of the tutorial content in the proceedings of the
conference. Such extended abstracts are encouraged but optional, and
will have to be accepted through peer review before inclusion.

Tutorial proposals must be sent by email directly to the program co-chairs
in PDF format.  More information will appear on:

The selection will be based on a combination of interest in content from
the perspective and the topics of OPODIS, the timeliness and the
potential to attract or establish new communities, and the proposed


Starting with this edition, OPODIS will feature a "Best Paper" Award.
All papers accepted for presentation at the conference will be evaluated
by the award committee. The Best Paper Award aims to encourage work that
best combines theory and practice, and demonstrates excellence of
research in at least one of the two.  This might be, for instance, an
advance in theory work that solves a real system issue, or an advance in
systems that builds upon theoretical results. The award committee may
decide to decline to confer the award, or to split it among more than
one recipient.


Maria Potop-Butucaru, LIP6
Christian Cachin, IBM Research - Zurich


Emmanuelle Anceaume             CNRS / IRISA, France


Silvia Bonomi                   La Sapienza, Italy
Christian Cachin (co-chair)     IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland
Keren Censor-Hillel             Technion, Israel
Xavier Defago                   JAIST, Japan
Shlomi Dolev                    Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Panagiota Fatourou              University of Crete, Greece
Antonio Fernandez Anta          IMDEA Networks Institute, Spain
Christof Fetzer                 TU Dresden, Germany
Emmanuel Godard                 Université Aix-Marseille, France
Wojciech Golab                  University of Waterloo, Canada
Krishna P. Gummadi              MPI SWS Saarbrücken, Germany
Taisuke Izumi                   Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
Flavio Junqueira                MSR Cambridge, United Kingdom
Rüdiger Kapitza                 TU Braunschweig, Germany
Aggelos Kiayias                 University of Athens, Greece
Fabian Kuhn                     University of Freiburg, Germany
Petr Kuznetsov                  Telecom ParisTech, France
Dahlia Malkhi                   VMware Research, United States
Rui Oliveira                    Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Marina Papatriantafilou         Chalmers, Sweden
Fernando Pedone                 University of Lugano, Switzerland
Andrzej Pelc                    University of Quebec, Canada
Erez Petrank                    Technion, Israel
Peter Pietzuch                  Imperial College, United Kingdom
Florin Pop                      University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Maria Potop-Butucaru (co-chair) Université Paris 6/LIP6, France
Michel Raynal                   IUF & IRISA-INRIA Rennes, France
Etienne Rivière                 University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland
Luís Rodrigues                  INESC-ID, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Matthieu Roy                    LAAS-CNRS, France
Alex Shvartsman                 University of Connecticut, United States
Roman Vitenberg                 University of Oslo, Norway
Philipp Woelfel                 University of Calgary, Canada
Haifeng Yu                      National University of Singapore, Singapore


Marcos K. Aguilera 		VMWare, United States
Roberto Baldoni                 Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Giuseppe Prencipe               University of Pisa, Italy
Nicola Santoro                  Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada
Marc Shapiro 			INRIA, France
Sébastien Tixeuil (chair)       IUF & LIP6-CNRS, France
Maarten van Steen               VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands


Emmanuelle Anceaume (chair)     CNRS / IRISA, France
Yann Busnel                     EXCESS (ENSAI) / INRIA, France
Elisabeth Lebret                INRIA, France
Lydie Mabil                     INRIA, France
Romaric Ludinard                University of Rome La Sapienza, Italy

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list