[hpc-announce] Exascale conference in Edinburgh: Call for Participation for EASC2015

Michele Weiland m.weiland at epcc.ed.ac.uk
Fri Jan 9 07:22:58 CST 2015


       Call for Participation: Exascale Applications and Software Conference
                                 EASC 2015 

                      Edinburgh, UK, 21st-23rd April 2015

   Organised by EPCC at The University of Edinburgh, in cooperation with SIGHPC



The aim of this conference is to bring together all of the stakeholders involved in solving 
the software challenges of the exascale – from application developers, through numerical 
library experts, programming model developers and integrators, to tools designers. The 
following keynote presentations have been confirmed:

* Mark Taylor, Head of CFD at McLaren Racing, will discuss the use of HPC in Formula 1 racing 
  and the challenges faced in this industrial area as we head towards the exascale.
* Simon Portegies Zwart, Professor of Computational Astrophysics at Leiden University will 
  present massively parallel GPU-accelerated galaxy simulations which have been nominated 
  for the 2014 Gordon Bell prize.
* Pete Beckman, Director of the Exascale Technology and Computing Institute at Argonne National 
  Laboratory, will provide an update on recent progress in the US with a particular focus on 
  software for the exascale.
* Xue-feng Yuan, Director of The National Supercomputer Centre at Guangzhou, will describe 
  the experience of managing Tianhe-2, the world's largest supercomputer.
* Cynthia McIntyre, Senior Vice President, Council on Competitiveness, will focus on the value 
  of HPC engagement with industry.

How to Participate

Authors are invited to present research and experience in all areas associated with developing 
applications for exascale and the associated tools, software programming models and libraries. 
Work can be presented as a talk or as a poster at the conference. A peer review process will be 
used to select abstracts. Following the conference, successful authors of talks will be expected 
to submit a paper for publication in the conference proceedings. Proceedings will be published 
through The University of Edinburgh and through the ACM Digital Library.

NVIDIA best talk and poster prizes: An NVIDIA K40 GPU (retail price $5,000) and two NVIDIA GTX780 
GPUs will be presented as best talk and poster prizes respectively.

Submission of Abstracts

The conference seeks contributions in the form of an abstract on relevant topics, including 
(but not limited to):

* enabling and optimising applications for exascale in any scientific area;
* developing and enhancing numerical algorithms for exascale systems;
* aiding the exploitation of massively parallel systems through tools, e.g. performance analysis, 
  debugging, development environments;
* programming models, techniques and libraries for exascale;
* evaluating best practice in HPC concerning large-scale facilities and application execution;
* cross-cutting issues such as energy-efficiency and resilience;
* hardware co-design for the exascale;
* large-scale benchmarking and performance evaluation.

Abstracts should be no longer than 500 words (talks) or 200 words (posters), and must be submitted 
by the 15th January 2015. Please check www.easc2015.ed.ac.uk for detailed submission instructions.

Important Dates

Abstract Submission deadline: 15th January 2015

Author notification: 16th February 2015

Early Bird Registration deadline: 10th March 2015

Registration deadline: 10th April 2015

Conference: 21st - 23rd April 2015

Paper Submission deadline: 4th May 2015

To register please go to www.easc2015.ed.ac.uk/registration-fees

About Edinburgh

Edinburgh is Scotland's cosmopolitan capital. Apart from its amazing castle and Arthur's Seat (an 
extinct volcano in the centre of the city), Edinburgh is home for several international festivals 
(International Film Festival, International Book Festival, Festival Fringe, to name only a few). 
Vancouver, Florence and Nice are some of Edinburgh's twin towns. Parts of the city centre are 
UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Numerous famous scientists have been born or worked in Edinburgh, 
for example Alexander Graham Bell, Max Born, Charles Darwin, Peter Higgs or James Clerk Maxwell.


The conference is being organised by EPCC at the University of Edinburgh and will be held at the 
John McIntyre Conference Centre, Pollock Halls, Edinburgh, UK.

Conference & Organising Committee

General chair: Professor Mark Parsons, EPCC – The University of Edinburgh
Vice chairs: Dr Lorna Smith and Dr Michele Weiland, EPCC – The University of Edinburgh

Program Committee

Chair: Dr Alan Gray, EPCC – The University of Edinburgh

Peter Bauer, ECMWF, UK
George Beckett, iVEC, Australia
Jason Beech-Brandt, Cray, UK
Boris Chetverushkin, Keldysh Institute, Russia
Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee, USA
Bill Gropp, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
Rolf Hempel, DLR, Germany
Bastian Koller, HLRS, Germany
Erwin Laure, KTH, Sweden
Chris Maynard, Met Office, UK
Per Oster, CSC, Finland
Happy Sithole, CHPC, South Africa
Lorna Smith, EPCC, UK
Vladimir Voevodin, Moscow State University, Russia
Michele Weiland, EPCC, UK
Stefan Wesner, University of Ulm, Germany
Xue-feng Yuan, National Supercomputing Center in Guangzhou, China

Dr Michele Weiland
Project Manager
EPCC - University of Edinburgh

m.weiland at epcc.ed.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)131 651 3580
Fax: +44 (0)131 650 6555

The University of Edinburgh is a charitable body, registered in
Scotland, with registration number SC005336.

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list