[hpc-announce] CFP: The International Conference on Open and Big Data (OBD 2015) - Firm Deadline

Javid Taheri javid.taheri at sydney.edu.au
Fri Apr 3 20:25:00 CDT 2015

----------------------Call for Papers---------------------------

The International Conference on Open and Big Data (OBD 2015)

24-26 August 2015, Rome, Italy


Data has become a key asset in modern societies, economies, and governmental organizations. Big Data encompasses various kinds of complex and large scale information that are beyond the processing capabilities of conventional software and databases. Open Data on the other hand can make Big Data more useful and widely accessible. The combination of Open and Big data can benefit users, developers, companies and various kinds of organizations to carry out useful analysis of data pattern and trends, make intelligent decisions, and solve complex problems that can help societies and economies and speed up innovations.

The aim of the Open and Big Data conference (OBD 2015) is to promote the state of the art in scientific and practical research of open and big data and to bring together researchers and practitioners from academia, industry, and public sector in an effort to present their research work and share research and development ideas.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Challenges and opportunities in open and big data
- Data models and architectures
- Security, privacy, and trust
- Data protection and integrity
- Identity theft, data loss and leakage
- Legal and ethical issues
- Data analytics and metrics
- Data representation and structures
- Data management and processing
- Data capturing and acquisition
- Tools and technologies
- QoS in open and big data
- Social networks analysis
- Data searching and mining
- Visualisation of data
- Personal data logging and quantified-self
- Context-aware data
- Personalisation of data
- Data economics
- Applications of open and big data
- Open and linked data
- Methodologies and use cases
- Usability issues
- Storages and network requirements
- Network models and protocols
- Open and big data in cloud and IoT

Paper submission and Publication:

OBD 2015 is technically co-sponsorship by the IEEE-CS TCI: Technical Committee on the Internet of the IEEE Computer Society.

Authors are requested to submit papers reporting original research results and experience. The page limit for full papers is 8 pages and for short papers is 6 pages. Papers should be prepared using IEEE two-column template. See instructions on the conference website.

All papers accepted for this conference will be published in the conference proceedings by the IEEE Computer Society Conference Publishing Service (CPS). The proceedings will be submitted to the IEEE-Xplore and the IEEE Computer Society (CSDL) digital libraries. The proceedings are also submitted for indexing through IEE INSPEC, EI (Compendex), Thomson ISI, and other indexing services.

Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers for special issues in international journals.

Important Dates:

Submission Deadline: 16 April 2015 (Firm)
Authors Notification: 30 May 2015
Final Manuscript Due: 20 June 2015

Organizing Committee:

General Chair
Daniel Neagu, University of Bradford, UK

Program Co-Chairs
George Angelos Papadopoulos, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Muhammad Younas, Oxford Brookes University, UK

Local Organising Chair
Massimo Mecella, SAPIENZA Universita di Roma, Italy

International Liaison Chair
Irfan Awan, University of Bradford, UK

Workshop Coordinator
Tor-Morten Gronli, Westerdals-Oslo School of Arts, Communication and Technology, Norway

Journal Special Issues Coordinator
Farookh Hussain, University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Publicity Chair
Javid Taheri, University of Sydney, Australia

Advisory Committee

Salima Benbernou, Universite Paris Descartes, France
Elisa Bertino, Purdue University, USA
Schahram Dustdar, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Keith Jeffery, Independent Consultant and Ex-Director IT at STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK
Dana Petcu, Western University of Timisoara, Romania
Marcos Antonio Vaz Salles, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
David Taniar, Monash University, Australia
Yanchun Zhang, Victoria University, Australia

Programme Committee

Abdullah Gani, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Andre de Carvalho, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Angelica Caro, University of Bio-Bio, Chile
Annalisa Appice, Universita degli Studi di Bari, Italy
Basem Y. Alkazemi, Umm Al-Qura University, Saudi Arabia
Bo Shen, University of Massachusette, Boston, USA
Daniela Barreiro Claro, Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil
Danilo Ardagna, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Eric Rondeau, Universite de Lorraine France
Georgia M. Kapitsaki, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Hamideh Afsarmanesh, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Haralambos Mouratidis, University of Brighton, UK
Harald Kosch, University of Passau, Germany
Haruo Yokota, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Isaac Woungang, Ryerson University, Canada
Jaroslav Pokorny, Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic
Jerome Darmont, Universite de Lyon, France
Juan Fernando Perez, Imperial College London, UK
Khaled Mohammed Khan, Qatar University, Qatar
Ladjel Bellatreche, ENSMA, France
Lai Xu, Bournemouth University, UK
Lauro Beltrao Costa, University of British Columbia, Canada
Lena Stromback, Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute, Sweden
Lenka Lhotska, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic
Manolis Gergatsoulis, Ionian University, Greece
Marco Aurelio, Stelmar Netto, IBM Research, Brazil
Maria Esther Vidal, Universidad Simon Bolivar, Venezuela
Ming Hour Yang, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan
Mohamed Bakhouya, International University of Rabat, Morocco
Nadia Bennani, INSA Lyon, France
Nadira Lammari, CNAM, France
Nawaz Khan, Middlesex University, UK
Rafael Tolosana-Calasanz, University of Zaragoza, Spain
Riccardo Albertoni, Institute of Applied Mathematics and Information Technologies, Italy
Roberto Di Pietro, Roma Tre University of Rome, Italy
Sadok Ben Yahia, Faculty of Sciences of Tunis, Tunisia
Samhaa El-Beltagy, Nile University Cairo, Egypt
Samia Oussena, University of West London, UK
Satish Srirama, University of Tartu, Estonia
Selma Boumerdassi, CNAM, France
Sharifullah Khan, NUST, Pakistan
Simon Fong, University of Macau, China
Siti Hafizah Ab. Hamid, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Siobhan Clarke, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Toshiyuki Amagasa, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Yi Gu, Middle Tennessee State University, USA
Yunjun Gao, Zhejiang University, China
Zaki Malik, Wayne State University, USA,
Zhifeng Bao, University of Tasmania, Australia
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.mcs.anl.gov/mailman/private/hpc-announce/attachments/20150404/43eef4b9/attachment.html>

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list