[hpc-announce] CFP: First International Workshop on Hardware-Software Co-design for High Performance Computing (Co-HPC 2014)

Shirley Moore shirley at icl.utk.edu
Wed Jul 16 08:25:00 CDT 2014

Call for Papers: First International Workshop on Hardware-Software
Co-Design for High Performance Computing (Co-HPC 2014)


In conjunction with SC’14 and in collaboration with ACM SIGHPC

Monday, November 17, 2014

New Orleans, LA

Hardware-software co-design involves the concurrent design of hardware and
software components of complex computer systems, whereby application
requirements influence architecture design and hardware constraints
influence design of algorithms and software. Concurrent design of hardware
and software has been used for the past two decades for embedded systems in
automobiles, avionics, mobile devices, and other such products, to optimize
for design constraints such as performance, power, and cost. High
performance computing (HPC) is facing a similar challenge as we move
towards the exascale era, with the necessity of designing systems that run
large-scale simulations with high performance while meeting cost and energy
consumption constraints. The purpose of this workshop is to bring together
researchers who are investigating the interrelationships between
algorithms/applications, systems software, and hardware, and who are
developing methodologies and tools for hardware-software co-design for HPC.
We seek submissions that address various aspects of hardware-software
co-design and that demonstrate collaboration between domain scientists,
applied mathematicians, computer scientists, and hardware architects.

Topics of interest to the workshop include, but are not limited, to the

-       methodologies for characterizing application requirements

-       modeling and prediction of performance and energy consumption

-       co-optimization for multiple objectives (such as performance,
power, resilience)

-       scalable, accurate architectural simulation

-       system provisioning and configuration to match workload
requirements and system constraints

-       mapping of algorithms and applications to heterogeneous systems

-       use of reconfigurable hardware for meeting domain-specific

Submitted papers must be no more than 8 pages in length and must be in IEEE
Proceedings format. Use the templates available at
submissions should be to the EasyChair submissions website at

Important Dates:

Submission deadline: August 22, 2014

Author notification: September 24, 2014

Final camera ready version due: October 8, 2014

Organizing Committee:

Shirley Moore, University of Texas at El Paso

Gregory Peterson, University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Richard Vuduc, Georgia Institute of Technology

Theresa Windus, Iowa State University

Advisory Board :

Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee

John Luginsland, Air Force Office of Scientific Research

Karen Pao, Department of Energy

Jeffrey Vetter, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Program Committee:

Richard Barrett, Sandia National Laboratory

David Bernholdt, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Alexandru Calotoiu, German School of Simulation Sciences

Laura Carrington, San Diego SuperComputer Center

Edmond Chow, Georgia Institute of Technology

Anthony Danalis, University of Tennessee

John Feo, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Eric Freudenthal, University of Texas at El Paso

Alexander Gaenko, Iowa State University

Todd Gamblin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Mark Gordon, Iowa State University

Christos Kartsaklis, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Robert Lucas, University of Southern California

Piotr Luszczek, University of Tennessee

Aniruddha Marathe, University of Arizona

Heike McCraw, University of Tennessee

Allen McPherson, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Ryan Olson, Cray

J. Ramanujam, Louisiana State University

Ramon Ravelo, University of Texas at El Paso

Lina Sawalha, Western Michigan University

Masha Sosinkina, Old Dominion University

Bert Still, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Hiroyuki Takizawa, Tokohu University

Patricia Teller, University of Texas at El Paso

Ananta Tiwari, San Diego Supercomputer Center

Vincent Weaver, University of Maine

Samuel Williams, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.mcs.anl.gov/mailman/private/hpc-announce/attachments/20140716/dd0b0908/attachment.html>

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list