[hpc-announce] PLC 2015 Workshop co-located with IPDPS 2015

Sunita Chandrasekaran sunisg123 at gmail.com
Sat Dec 20 14:18:23 CST 2014

2015 PLC Workshop
Programming Models, Languages and Compilers for Manycore and Heterogeneous


May 25, 2015 - Hyderabad, India


Co-located with 29th IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing
Symposium (IPDPS 2015)

Three essential pillars to successful parallel computing - Productivity,
Portability, Performance. Creating software for heterogeneous systems can
be quite complex especially when the low-level details need to be managed
and abstracted from the programmer. Emerging standards are providing an
incremental development to target heterogeneous architectures, be it
NVIDIA, ARM, Intel or AMD. We all know software is an expensive investment.
Portability is necessary, ensuring long lifetime of the software and thus
reducing the maintenance cost. Other challenges include locality and memory
issues, load balancing, hiding latency with concurrency and so on.
This workshop aims to brainstorm ways to make programming heterogeneous
systems less challenging and more interesting. We believe that this
workshop will provide a forum for the presentation and discussions of
research on all aspects of heterogeneous systems programming models,
compiler optimizations, language extensions, and software tools for such
Areas of interest include but are not limited to the following topics:
    •    Multicore processors, Heterogeneous systems, Accelerators
    •    Programming models: thread and task based models, data parallel
models, stream programming
    •    Programming environments for heterogeneous systems
    ◦    OpenMP for Accelerator
    ◦    OpenACC
    ◦    OpenCL/CUDA
    ◦    OpenHMPP and other related models
    •    Compiler optimizations and tuning heterogeneous systems
    ◦    Parallelization and loop transformations
    ◦    Locality optimizations
    ◦    SIMDization/Vectorization
    ◦    Reducing synchronization and scheduling overheads on heterogeneous
    ◦    Tiling, parametric tiling and offloading
    •    Runtime systems for multicore processors, heterogeneous systems,
    •    Debuggers, and performance analysis tools for heterogeneous system
and accelerators
    •    Application and Benchmarks


*Paper Submission Deadline: January 12th, 2015*
Paper Acceptance Notification: February 13th, 2015
Camera Ready Due: February 28th, 2015
Workshop Date: May 25th, 2015


Papers should present original research and should provide sufficient
background material to make them accessible to the broader community.

Submitted manuscripts may not exceed ten (10) single-spaced double-column
pages using 10-point size font on 8.5x11 inch pages (IEEE conference
style), including figures, tables, and references (Please check IPDPS Call
for Papers for more details). All papers will be peer-reviewed.The complete
symposium and workshop proceedings will be published and available in the
IEEE Digital Library.

Papers should be submitted electronically through the workshop web site at
easychair: EasyChair for PLC15

*Organization Committee *
*General Chair: *
    •    Barbara Chapman, University of Houston, US

*Steering Committee: *
    •    Guang R. Gao, University of Delaware, US
    •    Xinmin Tian, Intel, US
    •    Wenguang Chen, Tsinghua University, China
    •    Michael Wong, IBM, Canada
*Program Chair and Co-Chair(s): *
    •    Sunita Chandrasekaran, University of Houston, US
    •    TBA

*Program committee: *
    •    Dhananjay M. Dhamdhere, IIT Powai, India
    •    Matthias Muller, TU Dresden, Germany
    •    Kamesh Madduri, Pennsylvania State University, US
    •    Piotr Luszczek, University of Knoxville, Tennessee, US
    •    Henry Jin, NASA, US
    •    Barry Rountree, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, US
    •    Stephen Olivier, Sandia National Laboratories, US
    •    Jeff Hammond, Intel, US
    •    Dounia Khaldi, University of Houston, US
    •    Dharanipragada Janakiram, IIT, Madras, India
    •    Mahantesh M Halappanavar, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, US
    •    John Lidel, Micron, US
    •    James Beyer, Cray Inc, US
    •    Yuan Lin, NVIDIA, US
    •    Guido Juckeland, TU Dresden, Germany
    •    Seeyong Lee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, US
    •    Yin Lu, Texas Tech University, US
    •    Kishore Kothapalli, IIIT, Hyderabad, India

*Publicity Chair:*
    •    Rezaul Karim Raju, University of Houston, US
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.mcs.anl.gov/mailman/private/hpc-announce/attachments/20141220/733c95fa/attachment.html>

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list