[hpc-announce] Functional High-Performance Computing (FHPC 2014) - call for papers

Jost Berthold berthold at di.ku.dk
Wed Apr 2 11:18:25 CDT 2014

                             CALL FOR PAPERS

                                FHPC 2014

                     The 2nd ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on
                  Functional High-Performance Computing

                           Gothenburg, Sweden
                            September 4, 2014


Co-located with the International Conference on Functional Programming
                                (ICFP 2014)

Submission Deadline: Sunday, 15 May, 2014 (anywhere on earth)

The FHPC workshop aims at bringing together researchers exploring uses
of functional (or more generally, declarative or high-level)
programming technology in application domains where high performance
is essential.  The aim of the meeting is to enable sharing of results,
experiences, and novel ideas about how high-level, declarative
specifications of computationally challenging problems can serve as
maintainable and portable code that approaches (or even exceeds) the
performance of machine-oriented imperative implementations.

All aspects of performance critical programming and parallel
programming are in-scope for the workshop, irrespective of hardware
target.  This includes both traditional large-scale scientific
computing (HPC), as well as work targeting single node systems with
SMPs, GPUs, FPGAs, or embedded processors.  It is becoming apparent
that radically new and well founded methodologies for programming such
systems are required to address their inherent complexity and to
reconcile execution performance with programming productivity.

Every year, the FHPC workshop has an application area as a theme.
Papers touching on this topic are especially encouraged, though all
in-scope papers are welcomed.  For FHPC 2014, the theme is
"Heterogeneous computing".  In the systems and parallelism
communities, there has been a lot of work on programming systems with
CPUs and GPUs (or other mixed parallel architectures), but in the
programming languages community this idea has not received as much
attention.  At their best, high-level languages can have the degrees
of flexibility necessary to abstract over platform differences.


Accepted papers will be published by the ACM and will appear in the
ACM Digital Library.

  * Submissions due: Sunday, 15 May, 2014 (anywhere on earth)
  * Author notification: Friday, 15 June, 2014
  * Final copy due: Sunday, 22 June, 2014

Submitted papers must be in portable document format (PDF), formatted
according to the ACM SIGPLAN style guidelines (2 column, 9pt format).
See http://www.sigplan.org/authorInformation.htm for more information
and style files.  Typical papers are expected to be 8 pages (but up to
four additional pages are permitted).

Contributions to FHPC 2014 should be submitted via Easychair, at the
following URL:

  * https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=fhpc14

The submission site is now open.

The FHPC workshops adhere to the ACM SIGPLAN policies regarding
programme committee contributions and republication. Any paper
submitted must adhere to ACM SIGPLAN's republication policy. PC member
submissions are welcome, but will be reviewed to a higher standard.


Travel Support:

Student attendees with accepted papers can apply for a SIGPLAN PAC
grant to help cover travel expenses. PAC also offers other support, such
as for child-care expenses during the meeting or for travel costs for
companions of SIGPLAN members with physical disabilities, as well as for
travel from locations outside of North America and Europe. For details
on the PAC programme, see its web page (http://www.sigplan.org/PAC.htm).

Programme Committee:

Mary Sheeran (co-chair),    Chalmers University of Technology, SE
Ryan Newton (co-chair),     Indiana University, USA

Lennart Augustsson,         Standard Chartered Bank, UK
Jost Berthold,              University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Guy Blelloch,               Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Marius Eriksen,             Twitter, USA
Clemens Grelck,             University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Vinod Grover,               Nvidia, USA
Kevin Hammond,              University of St. Andrews, UK
Ben Lippmeier,              University of New South Wales, Australia
Liu (Paul) Hai,             Intel, USA
Rita Loogen,                University of Marburg, Germany
Greg Michaelson,            Heriot-Watt University, UK
Marc Pouzet,                ENS Paris, France
John Reppy,                 Univesity of Chicago, USA
Tiark Rompf,                Oracle Labs and EPFL, Switzerland
Satnam Singh,               Google, USA
Dimitrios Vytiniotis,       Microsoft Research, UK

General Chairs:
Jost Berthold               University of Copenhagen

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list