[hpc-announce] SIMUTools 2014 CFP (deadline extension)

Yoginath, Srikanth B. yoginathsb at ornl.gov
Thu Sep 26 12:00:25 CDT 2013

Please note the paper submission deadlines for SIMUTools 2014 conference
has been extended.
- Abstract submissions are due by October 21, 2013
- Short and full paper submissions are due by October 28, 2013

                  CALL FOR PAPERS - SIMUTOOLS 2014

7th International ICST Conference on Simulation Tools and Techniques

                 March 17-19, 2014, Lisbon, Portugal


Sponsored by ICST, CISUC
Technically co-sponsored by CREATE-NET
Technically co-sponsored by ACM SIGSIM (approval pending)
Endorsed by EAI


SIMUTools 2014 is the seventh edition of the annual International
Conference on Simulation Tools and Techniques. The conference focuses on a
broad range of research challenges in the field of simulation, modeling
and analysis, addressing current and future trends in simulation
techniques, models, practices and software. The conference is dedicated to
fostering interdisciplinary collaborative research in these areas and
across a wide spectrum of application domains.

Building on the success of the previous six editions (2008-2013), this
year's edition will provide an exciting forum for interaction among
academic and industry researchers together with practitioners from both
the simulation community and the different user communities.


SIMUTools' general topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the

* Simulation methods: discrete event, parallel and distributed simulation,
time synchronization, load balancing and migration, model partitioning,
hybrid simulation, simulation-interoperation, multi-resolution and
multi-scale simulation
* Simulation techniques: service-oriented, agent-based, web-based,
component-based, symbiotic simulation
* Simulation software: environments, tools, libraries, and frameworks
* Simulation performance: GPU-based simulation, simulation in the cloud,
scalability, performance analysis
* Modeling formalisms: DEVS, Petri Nets, process algebras, state charts,
and others
* Simulation verification, validation, accreditation, and analysis:
benchmark models, simulation-based verification, workflows, simulation
experiment design, and optimization
* Simulation packages: widely used frameworks such as Modelica, ns-2/3,
OPNET, Qualnet, OMNET++, and other open source software for modeling and

The conference invites submissions on the topics above in all application
areas of simulation.

Submissions in interdisciplinary areas are especially encouraged. Specific
topics include, but are not limited to:

* Wireless technologies (cellular, vehicular, mesh, ad hoc, wireless
sensor networks)
* Network models (mobility models, traffic models, network topology)
* Overlay networks, peer-to-peer networks
* Parallel and distributed systems, high-performance computing systems
* Operating systems
* Fault tolerant systems
* Embedded and real-time systems
* Human behavioral models/representations
* Infrastructural networks
* Logistics and manufacturing
* Environmental and biological systems
* Multi-agent systems
* Security and emergency applications
* Military applications
* Social networks
* Epidemiology


Papers describing significant research contributions of theoretical and/or
practical nature are being solicited for submission to the conference.

Authors are invited to submit original, high-quality papers presenting new
research related to simulation software, methodologies, applications, and
practices. While SIMUTools' main focus is on advances in simulation
software and techniques, the submission of papers is encouraged on all
aspects of simulation, modeling, and analysis, including broader
theoretical and practical research contributions.

Papers must be written in English and must not exceed 10 pages. Authors
should submit papers via the SIMUTools conference website in PDF format,
complying with the ACM conference proceedings style. Submitted papers must
not have been submitted for review or published (partially or completely)
elsewhere. Every paper will be peer-reviewed by at least three reviewers.
Papers will be assessed based on originality, correctness, relevance, and
quality of writing. In exceptional circumstances (such as papers evidently
out of scope) may not receive full-length reviews and may be rejected
summarily. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to
register and present the work in person at the conference. Short papers of
4 to 6 pages describing work in progress can also be submitted in the
short paper category.


Accepted papers presented at the conference will appear in electronic
proceedings, in the ACM DL (approval pending), and in EU-DL. 'Green' open
access is endorsed, i.e., authors may make their papers available on their
own web sites.


Detailed submission and formatting instructions are available at


Main Conference

Abstract submission deadline : October 21, 2013
Short and full paper submission deadline : October 28, 2013
Author notification : December 15, 2013
Poster and demo submission deadline : December 31, 2013 (tentative)
Camera-ready deadline : January 15, 2014
Conference : March 17-19, 2014


General Chair: Fernando Barros (Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal)
Program Chairs: Kalyan Perumalla (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
Roland Ewald (University of Rostock, Germany)
Publicity Chair: Srikanth Yoginath (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
Organizing Chair: Ruzanna Najaryan (EAI)
Web Chair: Alessandro Pellegrini (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy)


Gianfranco Balbo, University of Torino
Wentong Cai, Nanyang Technological University
Christopher Carothers, RPI
Emiliano Casalicchio, University of Rome "Tor Vergata"
Dave Cavalcanti, Philip Research North America
Andrea D'Ambrogio, University of Rome "Tor Vergata"
Lorenzo Donatiello, University of Bologna
Stephan Eidenbenz, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Marco Gribaudo, Politecnico di Milano
Jan Himmelspach, Capgemini
Maria Hybinette, University of Georgia
Peter Kemper, College of William and Mary
Cameron Kiddle, University of Calgary
Nikolai Kornev, University of Rostock
Samuel Kounev, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Michael Lees, Nanyang Technological University
Margaret Loper, Georgia Tech Research Institute
Johannes Lüthi, University of Applied Sciences Kufstein
Fabien Michel, LIRMM - Université Montpellier II
Oliver Obst, CSIRO
Alfred Park, Microsoft Corporation
David Parker, University of Birmingham
Luiz Felipe Perrone, Bucknell University
Francesco Quaglia, Sapienza, University of Rome
George Riley, Georgia Institute of Technology
Paolo Romano, INESC-ID/IST
Rob Simmonds, University of Calgary
Giovanni Stea, University of Pisa
Steffen Strassburger, Ilmenau University of Technology
Claudia Szabo, The University of Adelaide
Gary Tan, National University of Singapore
Yong Teo, National University of Singapore
Mirco Tribastone, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Carl Tropper, McGill University
Adelinde Uhrmacher, University of Rostock
Victor C. Valgenti, Washington State University
Anil Kumar Vullikanti, Virginia Tech
Katinka Wolter, Freie Universitaet zu Berlin
Guanhua Yan, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Yiping Yao, National University of Defense Technology
Suiping Zhou, Teesside University
Sabine Zinn, University of Bamberg

ICST is a Member of EAI The European Alliance for Innovation is a dynamic
eco-system for fostering ICT enabled innovation to improve European
competitiveness and to benefit society. EAI uses open e-platforms to
inspire grassroots collaboration among all relevant actors, from
organizations to individuals, to stimulate community driven innovation
to its institutional and individual members worldwide. Through EAI,
organizations find ideas and talent, and individual innovators find
organizations for their ingenuity and craft.
Join the innovation community at www.eai.eu

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list