[hpc-announce] IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing -- Call for Nominations

Manish Parashar parashar at rutgers.edu
Sun Oct 13 17:13:30 CDT 2013

     The 2014 IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing
                A Call for Nominations

The IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing is awarded by
the IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC) for
significant and sustained contributions to scalable computing coupled
with an outstanding record of high quality and high impact research.
The award consists of a plaque and an honorarium of $1000.  During
2008-2011, this honour was presented as the IEEE TCSC Medal for
Excellence, and has since been renamed to the IEEE TCSC Award for

The past recipients of this IEEE award are: Professor Jack Dongarra
(University of Tennessee, USA) in 2008, Professor Rajkumar Buyya
(University of Melbourne, Australia) in 2009, Professor William Gropp
(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) in 2010, Professor
Albert Zomaya (University of Sydney, Australia) in 2011, Professor
David Abramson (Monash University, Australia) in 2012, and Professor
Marc Snir (Argonne National Laboratory, USA) in 2013.

More details of the award can be found at the IEEE TCSC
website: https://www.ieeetcsc.org/awards/award_for_excellence

Nominations: A candidate may be nominated by colleagues/TCSC members
or may nominate him/her-self.  An individual can nominate at most one
candidate for this award.  The candidate must be an IEEE, IEEE CS, and
TCSC member in good standing.  Nomination must be submitted online
(https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=tcscexcellence2013).  A
nomination application (as a single PDF file) should contain the
following details:

1. Professional Employment Affiliations: List the nominee's current
    professional affiliations and titles.

2. Citation: Give a brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely
    stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified
    for the award.

3. Technical Contributions: Describe the nominee's technical
    achievements as well as significance and impact. (Max 2 page

4. TCSC Contribution: Describe the candidate’s service and specific
    contributions to TCSC and its community activities. (Max 2 page

5. Endorsers: Each nomination must be supported by letter from three
    at least endorsers. An endorser can endorse only one candidate for
    this award. The endorsers will be required to comment on the
    nominee's technical contributions as well as service to the TCSC
    and its community. It is nominator's responsibility to ensure that
    endorsement letters are submitted on/before the application

Important Dates:
	Nomination Deadline:  January 07, 2014
	Results Notification:  February 01, 2014

Award Selection Committee: The award selection committee will consist
of past winners, leaders in the field, as well as members of the TCSC
Executive Committee.  The selection committee member cannot be a
nominator or endorser.

Award Presentation Note: The award will presented at the 14th IEEE/ACM
International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid
2014) to be held in Chicago, USA, from May 26-29, 2014.  The winner
should be available to receive the award in person and present an
award acceptance speech, scheduled as a keynote talk at the CCGrid
2014 conference.  For more information about the conference please see

	Manish Parashar, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA (Email: parashar at rutgers dot edu)
	Beniamino Di Martino, Second University of Naples, Italy (Email: beniamino.dimartino at unina dot it)

Selection Committee:
	  David Abramson Monash University, Australia
	  William Gropp, University of Illinois, USA
	  Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
	  Dieter Kranzlmueller Ludwig-Maximilians University (LMU), Germany
	  Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
	  Marc Snir, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
	  Mateo Valerio, UPC, Spain

Manish Parashar							Office: CoRE Bldg, Rm 628
RDI2/CAC/Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engr.	Phone: (848) 445-5388
Rutgers University							Fax:     (848) 445-0593
94 Brett Road								Email: parashar at rutgers dot edu
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8058					WWW: http://parashar.rutgers.edu

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list