[hpc-announce] PDSW 2013 Call for Posters and Participation

Dean Hildebrand dhildeb at us.ibm.com
Fri Nov 8 12:58:34 CST 2013

[Apologies if you received multiple copies of this email.]


The 8th Parallel Data Storage Workshop (PDSW13)
held in conjunction with IEEE/ACM Supercomputing (SC) 2013
Denver, Colorado, Monday, November 18, 2013


Submissions for technical poster presentation should submit
a short poster abstract as instructed on the workshop web
site.  Posters with technical results for storage products
are also encouraged.  A poster presentation “lightening
round” will give authors a few minutes to present their
poster in front of the entire workshop.  In addition, the
workshop will have two poster sessions.

Poster Submissions: http://www.pdsw.org/
Poster Submission Deadline: Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2013.
Poster Notification: On or before Thursday, Nov. 14, 2013


8:55am - 9:00am Welcome – Dean Hildebrand, IBM
                          Karsten Schwan, Geogia Tech

9:00am – 10:00am Keynote Speaker: Nisha Talagala, Fusion-io
                                  The All-Flash Datacenter

10:00am - 10:30am POSTER SESSION 1

10:30am – 12:00pm SESSION 1: Dealing the Cards
                  Chair: Meghan McClelland

    Efficient Transactions for Parallel Data Movement
    Jay Lofstead, Sandia National Laboratories
    Jai Dayal, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Ivo Jemenez; Carlos Maltzahn, University of California,
    Santa Cruz

    Asynchronous Object Storage with QoS for
    Scientific and Commercial Big Data
    Michael J. Brim; David A. Dillow; Sarp Oral;
    Bradley W. Settlemyer; Feiyi Wang, ORNL

    Performance and Scalability Evaluation of the
    Ceph Parallel File System
    Feiyi Wang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    Mark Nelson, Ink Tank Inc
    Sarp Oral; Scott Atchely, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    Sage Weil, Ink Tank Inc.
    Brad Settlemyer; Blake Caldwell; Jason Hill, Oak Ridge
    National Laboratory

12:00pm - 1:30pm Lunch (not provided)

1:30pm – 2:30pm SESSION 2: Shuffling the Deck
                Chair: John Bent

    Structuring PLFS for Extensibility
    Chuck Cranor; Garth Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University
    Milo Polte, WibiData

    SDS: A Framework for Scientific Data Services
    Bin Dong; Surendra Byna; Kesheng Wu, Lawrence Berkeley
    National Laboratory

2:30pm – 3:00pm Poster Presentations

3:00pm - 3:30pm POSTER SESSION 2

3:30pm – 5:00pm SESSION 3: Playing with a Full Deck
                Chair: Carlos Maltzahn

    Predicting Intermediate Storage Performance for Workflow
    Lauro Beltrao Costa; Samer Al-Kiswany, The University of
    British Columbia
    Abmar Barros, Universidade Federal de Campina Grande
    Hao Yang; Matei Ripeanu, The University of British

    Active Data: A Data-Centric Approach to Data Life-Cycle
    Anthony Simonet; Gilles Fedak, INRIA/University of Lyon
    Matei Ripeanu; Samer Al-Kiswany, University of British

    Fourier-Assisted Machine Learning of Hard Disk
    Drive Access Time Models
    Adam Crume; Carlos Maltzahn, University of California,
    Santa Cruz
    Lee Ward; Thomas Kroeger; Matthew Curry; Ron Oldfield;
    Patrick Widener, Sandia National Laboratories

5:00pm - 5:30pm Short Announcements

Program Committee:
Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech (PC Chair)
Dean Hildebrand, IBM (PC Chair)
Ahmed Amer, Santa Clara University
John Bent, EMC
Randal Burns, Johns Hopkins University
Andreas Dilger, Intel
Fred Douglis, EMC
Garth Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University and Panasas Inc.
Peter Honeyman, University of Michigan
Song Jiang, Wayne State University
Sanjay Kumar, Intel
Carlos Maltzahn, University of California, Santa Cruz
Meghan Wingate McClelland, Xyratex
Ron Oldfield, Sandia National Laboratories
Narasimha Reddy, Texas A&M University
Robert Ross, Argonne National Laboratory
Keith A. Smith, NetApp
Yuan Tian, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Steering committee:
John Bent, EMC
Scott Brandt, University of California, Santa Cruz
Evan J. Felix, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Garth A. Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University and Panasas Inc.
Gary Grider, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Peter Honeyman, University of Michigan
Bill Kramer, National Center for Supercomputing Applications
 University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Darrell Long, University of California, Santa Cruz
Carlos Maltzahn, University of California, Santa Cruz
Rob Ross, Argonne National Laboratory
Philip C. Roth, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
John Shalf, National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Lee Ward, Sandia National Laboratories
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.mcs.anl.gov/mailman/private/hpc-announce/attachments/20131108/75a4a97d/attachment.html>

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list