[hpc-announce] X10 2013 Workshop Call for Papers

David P Grove groved at us.ibm.com
Sun Feb 24 10:19:15 CST 2013

The 2013 ACM SIGPLAN X10 Workshop (X10'13)
  co-located with PLDI'13 in Seattle, WA

The concurrency and scale-out era is upon us. Application programmers
need to confront the architectural challenge of multiples cores and
accelerators, clusters and supercomputers. A central need is the
development of a usable programming model that can address these
challenges -- dealing with thousands of cores and peta-bytes of data.

The open-source X10 programming language is designed to address these
twin challenges of productivity and performance. It is organized
around four basic principles of asynchrony, locality, atomicity and
order, developed on a type-safe, class-based, object-oriented
foundation. This foundation is robust enough to support fine-grained
concurrency, Cilk-style fork-join programming, GPU programming, SPMD
computations, phased computations, active messaging, MPI-style
communicators and cluster programming. X10 implementations are
available on a wide range of systems ranging from laptops, to
clusters, to supercomputers.

The X10 Workshop is intended as a forum for X10 programmers,
developers, researchers, and educators. The program may include
presentation of invited and selected papers, panels and a late evening
X10 hackathon.

Original papers are invited on all aspects of X10, including theory,
design, implementation, practice, curriculum development and
experience, applications and tools. Accepted authors will have the
option of having their paper published in the workshop proceedings in
ACM Digital Library.

Important Dates
  Paper submission deadline: March 15, 2013
  Author Notification: April 10, 2013
  Workshop: Thu or Fri, June 20 or 21, 2013 (with PLDI '13)

Submission Information:
  Submissions must be in ACM proceedings format, 9-point type, and may
  not exceed 10 pages (all inclusive). Papers must describe unpublished
  work that is not currently submitted for publication elsewhere.

Program Committee:
  Jose Nelson Amaral (University of Alberta)
  David Grove (IBM Research) - PC Chair
  Dave Hudak (Ohio Supercomputer Center)
  Martha Kim (Columbia University)
  I-Ting Angelina Lee (MIT)
  Igor Peshansky (Google)
  Toyotaro Suzumura (IBM Research / Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  Olivier Tardieu (IBM Research)
  Eli Tilevich (Virginia Tech)
  Jisheng Zhao (Rice University)

For more information, please see the online call for papers at
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.mcs.anl.gov/mailman/private/hpc-announce/attachments/20130224/ed7ddaf7/attachment.html>

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list