[hpc-announce] 2012 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing: A Call for Nominations

Rajkumar Buyya raj at csse.unimelb.edu.au
Wed Jan 11 19:01:02 CST 2012

       The 2012 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing
               A Call for Nominations

The IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing is presented to an 
individual for his/her significant and sustained contributions to the scalable 
computing community through the IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing 
(TCSC), coupled with an outstanding record of high quality and high impact 
research. The award consists of a medal and an honorarium of $1000. In the past, 
the award as IEEE Medal of Excellence, were awarded to Professor Jack Dongarra 
(University of Tennessee, USA) in 2008, Professor Rajkumar Buyya (University of 
Melbourne, Australia) in 2009, Professor William Gropp (University of Illinois 
at Urbana-Champaign, USA) in 2010, and Professor Albert Zomaya (University of 
Sydney, Australia) in 2011.

Nominations: A candidate may be nominated by colleagues/TCSC members or may 
nominate him/her-self. Nomination shall be submitted online at the following 
site: http://tcsc.unina2.it/awards

A nomination should include the following details:

1. Professional Employment Affiliations: List the nominee's current professional 
affiliations and titles.

2. Citation: Give a brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the 
most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.

3. Technical Contributions: Describe the nominee's technical achievements as 
well as significance and impact.

4. TCSC Contribution: Describe the candidate’s service and specific 
contributions to TCSC, its mission and its activities.

5. Endorsers: Each nomination must be supported by letter from three at least 

Please provide the names, affiliation, and addresses (email) of your designated 
endorsers for your nomination. The endorsers will be required to comment on the 
nominee's technical contributions as well as service to the TCSC community. The 
complete nomination data and endorsement letters shall be submitted by the deadline.

Important Dates:
-      Nomination Deadline:  Feb 10, 2012
-      Results Notification:  Feb 28, 2012

Award Selection Committee: The award selection committee will consist of past 
winners, leaders in the field, as well as members of the TCSC Executive Committee.

Award Presentation Note: The award will presented at the 12th IEEE/ACM 
International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid 2012) to be 
held in Ottawa, Canada from May 13-16, 2012. The winner should be available to 
receive the award in person and present a keynote talk at the CCGrid 2012 
conference. For more information about the conference please see 

Award Committee Co-Chairs:
  * Beniamino Di Martino, Second University of Naples, Italy
    (Email: beniamino.dimartino AT unina.it)

  * Manish Parashar, Rutgers: The State University of New Jersey, USA
   (Email: parashar AT rutgers.edu)

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list