[hpc-announce] CFP: Third International Green Computing Conference (IGCC'12)

John Owens jowens at ece.ucdavis.edu
Mon Jan 2 10:31:26 CST 2012

Third International Green Computing Conference (IGCC'12)
June 5-8, 2012 in San Jose, California, USA

** Scope **
IGCC'12 will provide a forum for presenting and discussing innovative
research on a broad range of topics in the fields of sustainable and
energy-efficient computing, and computing for a more sustainable
planet. The conference will hold a technical program, panels,
workshops, and tutorials on these topics. IGCC'12 will be technically
co-sponsored by the IEEE. Topics of interest include, but are not
limited to:

Sustainable Computing
* Power-aware algorithms and protocols
* Power-aware software and hardware
* Low-power electronics and systems
* Application-specific ASICs and FPGAs
* Sensing and monitoring
* Characterization, metrics, and modeling
* Reliability, thermal behavior and control
* Power-efficient delivery and cooling
* Life-cycle analysis of IT equipment

Computing for Sustainability
* Renewable energy models and prediction
* Matching energy supply and demand
* Smart grid and microgrids
* Smart transportation and manufacturing
* Smart buildings and urban development
* Energy harvesting, storage, and recycling
* Climate and ecosystem monitoring
* Using IT to reduce carbon emissions
* Carbon metering and user feedback

IGCC'12 welcomes submissions that have not been published and that are
not under review by another conference or journal. All submissions
will be evaluated on their originality, technical soundness,
significance, presentation, and interest to the conference attendees.

Submissions must not exceed 10 letter-size pages using the IEEE format
for conference proceedings. Papers must be received by the submission
deadline to be considered for presentation.

** Best paper award and journal publication **

The Technical Committee will select the best paper as well as several
papers to be extended and considered by the Journal on Sustainable

** Workshops and tutorials **

Proposals are solicited for workshops and tutorials to be held in
conjunction with the conference. Proposals should be submitted to the
Workshops and Tutorials Chairs. Additional details are available at

** Important dates **

Abstract submission: January 13, 2012
Paper submission: January 20, 2012
Notifications sent to authors: April 4, 2012
Camera-ready papers due: May 1, 2012

** Organization ** 

General chairs:
David Culler (UC Berkeley), Behrooz Shirazi (Wash. State Univ.)

Program chairs:
Ricardo Bianchini (Rutgers Univ.), Fred Chong (UC Santa Barbara)

Program committee:
Tarek F. Abdelzaher UI Urbana-Champaign
Hakan Aydin George Mason Univ.
Iris Bahar Brown Univ.
Cullen Bash HP Labs
Kirk W. Cameron Virginia Tech
John Carter IBM Research
Prabal Dutta Univ. of Michigan
Klaus Fichter Borderstep Institute
Rodrigo Fonseca Brown Univ.
Eugene Gorbatov Intel Research
Rajesh Gupta UC San Diego
Sandeep Gupta Arizona State Univ.
Sudhanva Gurumurthi Univ. of Virginia
Mor Harchol-Balter Carnegie Mellon Univ.
Canturk Isci IBM Research
Mahmut Kandemir Penn State Univ.
Aman Kansal Microsoft Research
Krishna Kant National Science Foundation
Randy H. Katz UC Berkeley
Dejan Kostic EPFL
Christos Kozyrakis Stanford Univ.
Ulrich Kremer Rutgers Univ.
Benjamin C. Lee Duke Univ.
Tao Li Univ. of Florida
Srilatha Manne AMD
Ethan L. Miller UC Santa Cruz
Onur Mutlu Carnegie Mellon Univ.
Manish Parashar Rutgers Univ.
Massoud Pedram Univ. of Southern California
Kirk Pruhs Univ. of Pittsburgh
Partha Ranganathan HP Labs
Tajana S. Rosing UC San Diego
Martin Schulz Lawrence Livermore National Lab.
David Shmoys Cornell Univ.
Ankur Srivastava Univ. of Maryland
Mani Srivastava UC Los Angeles
Michael Taylor UC San Diego
Bhuvan Urgaonkar Penn State Univ.
Xiaorui Wang Ohio State Univ.
Thomas F. Wenisch Univ. of Michigan

Workshops chair:
Sanjay Ranka (Univ. of Florida)
Publications chair:
Saeed Rajput (Nova Southeastern Univ.)

Publicity chairs:
Giuseppe Anastasi (Universita di Pisa, Italy), John Owens (UC Davis)

Submissions chair:
Guoping Long (Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Steering committee:
Ishfaq Ahmad Co-Chair, UT Arlington
Behrooz Shirazi Co-Chair, Wash. State Univ.
Rajesh Gupta UC San Diego
Sandeep Gupta Arizona State Univ.
Ali Hurson Missouri Univ. of Science and Technology
Francis Lau Univ. of Hong Kong
Sanjay Ranka Univ. of Florida
Saeed Rajput Nova Southeastern University

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list