[hpc-announce] 2013 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing: A Call for Nominations

Rajkumar Buyya rbuyya at unimelb.edu.au
Wed Dec 26 23:33:30 CST 2012

      The 2013 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing
                 A Call for Nominations

The IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing is awarded for significant
and sustained contributions to the scalable computing community through the
IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC), coupled with an
outstanding record of high quality and high impact research. The award consists
of a plaque and an honorarium of $1000. During 2008-2011, this honour was
presented as the IEEE Medal of Excellence. The past recipients of this IEEE
award are: Professor Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee, USA) in 2008,
Professor Rajkumar Buyya (University of Melbourne, Australia) in 2009,
Professor William Gropp (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) in
2010, Professor Albert Zomaya (University of Sydney, Australia) in 2011, and
Professor David Abramson (Monash University, Australia) in 2012.

Nominations: A candidate may be nominated by colleagues/TCSC members or
may nominate him/her-self. An individual can nominate at most one candidate
for this award. The candidate must be an IEEE, IEEE CS, and TCSC member
in good standing. Nomination must be submitted online via the TCSC web page
(https://www.ieeetcsc.org). A nomination application (as a single PDF file) 
should contain the following details:

1. Professional Employment Affiliations: List the nominee's current professional 
affiliations and titles.

2. Citation: Give a brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the 
most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.

3. Technical Contributions: Describe the nominee's technical achievements as
     well as significance and impact. (Max 2 page length)

4. TCSC Contribution: Describe the candidate’s service and specific 
contributions to TCSC and its community activities. (Max 2 page length)

5. Endorsers: Each nomination must be supported by letter from three at least
     endorsers. An endorser can endorse only one candidate for this award. The
     endorsers will be required to comment on the nominee's technical 
contributions as well as service to the TCSC and its community. It is 
nominator's responsibility to ensure that endorsement letters are submitted 
on/before the application deadline.

Important Dates:
	Nomination Deadline:  January 07, 2013
	Results Notification:  February 01, 2013

Award Selection Committee: The award selection committee will consist of past 
winners, leaders in the field, as well as members of the TCSC Executive 
Committee. The selection committee member cannot be a nominator or endorser.

Award Presentation Note: The award will presented at the 13th IEEE/ACM 
International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid 2013) to be 
held in Delft, Netherlands from May 13-16, 2013. The winner should be available 
to receive the award in person and present a keynote talk at the CCGrid 2013 
conference. For more information about the conference please see 

	Manish Parashar, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA
               (Email: parashar at rutgers dot edu)

Selection Committee:
	David Abramson Monash University, Australia	
	Rajkumar Buyya, The University of Melbourne, Australia
	Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee, USA
	William Gropp, University of Illinois, USA
	Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
	Dieter Kranzlmueller Ludwig-Maximilians University (LMU), Germany
	Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
	Valerie Taylor, Texas A&M University, USA
	Albert Zomaya, University of Sydney, Australia


More information about the hpc-announce mailing list