[hpc-announce] CFP: 4th Workshop on Interfaces and Abstractions for Scientific Data Storage (IASDS 2012)

Phil Carns carns at mcs.anl.gov
Thu Apr 26 08:08:34 CDT 2012

Call for Papers:

4th Workshop on Interfaces and Architectures for Scientific Data Storage (IASDS)
September 24 2012, held in conjunction with IEEE Cluster 2012 in Beijing, China
Paper Submission Deadline: May 25, 2012

High-performance computing simulations and large scientific experiments generate tens of terabytes of data, and these data sizes grow each year. Existing systems for storing, managing, and analyzing data are being pushed to their limits by these applications, and new techniques are necessary to enable efficient data processing for future simulations and experiments.

This workshop will provide a forum for engineers and scientists to present and discuss their most recent work related to the storage, management, and analysis of data for scientific workloads. Emphasis will be placed on forward-looking approaches to tackle the challenges of storage at extreme scale or to provide better abstractions for use in scientific workloads.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

    * parallel file systems
    * scientific databases
    * active storage
    * scientific I/O middleware
    * extreme scale storage

Past Workshops:

    IASDS 2011, Austin: http://www.mcs.anl.gov/events/workshops/iasds11/agenda.php
    IASDS 2010, Crete: http://www.mcs.anl.gov/events/workshops/iasds10/agenda.php
    IASDS 2009, New Orleans: http://www.mcs.anl.gov/events/workshops/iasds09/agenda.php

Important Dates:

    Paper Submission Deadline: May 25, 2012
    Author Notification: June 22, 2012
    Final Manuscript Due: July 7, 2012
    Workshop: September 24, 2012

Submission Info:

    See http://www.mcs.anl.gov/events/workshops/iasds12/submissions/

Workshop Chairs:

    Philip Carns, Mathematics and Computer Science Division,  Argonne National Laboratory (carns at mcs.anl.gov)
    Osamu Tatebe, Center for Computational Sciences, University of Tsukuba (tatebe at cs.tsukuba.ac.jp)

Program Committee:

    Francisco Javier García Blas, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
    Philip Carns, Argonne National Laboratory
    Hideyuki Kawashima, University of Tsukuba
    Hiroya Matsuba, Hitachi
    Carlos Maltzahn, UCSC & Ultra-scale Research Center at New Mexico Consortium
    Ron Oldfield, Sandia National Laboratory
    Yoshihiro Oyama, University of Electro-Communications
    Shinji Sumimoto, Fujitsu
    Osamu Tatebe, University of Tsukuba
    Andrew Uselton, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
    Pete Wyckoff, NetApp, Inc.

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list