[hpc-announce] CFP: PPAC11 Workshop deadline extended

Cal Ribbens ribbens at vt.edu
Fri Jun 17 08:38:31 CDT 2011

             CFP: IEEE CLUSTER 2011 WORKSHOP

    Parallel Programming on Accelerator Clusters (PPAC11)

               September 26, Austin, Texas

Call for Papers

Accelerator-based parallel architectures, heterogeneous
multicore processors, FPGAs and GPUs, are rapidly becoming
mainstream components for cluster computing.  While the
potential of accelerators for addressing problems such as
memory latency and bandwidth has long been recognized,
accelerators present several challenges to programmers
and cluster systems designers. Conventional parallel
programming models and libraries, parallel algorithms,
and system software need to be restructured and redesigned
to exploit the architectural strengths of accelerators
and mitigate their lack of efficient general-purpose
computing capabilities.

This workshop will bring together researchers from academia
and industry to discuss the latest developments in parallel
programming models, languages, tools, system software and
applications for accelerator-based clusters.

Topics if interest include:

* Programming models for accelerator-based clusters,
   including systems using GPUs, heterogeneous multicore
   processors and FPGAs.
* Compiler and runtime support for accelerator-based
   clusters, including support for scheduling, communication,
   memory management, and i/o.
* Operating systems and virtualization support for
   accelerator-based clusters.
* Performance evaluation of accelerator-based clusters.
* Performance analysis, profiling and debugging tools.
* Application studies on accelerator-based clusters.
* Power and energy-efficiency studies of accelerator-based

Schedule and Submissions (see http://www.checs.eng.vt.edu/ppac11)

       Papers due:            June 24, 2011
       Author notification:   July  8, 2010
       Final papers due:      July 15, 2010
       PPAC11 workshop:       September 26, 2011


  Dimitris Nikolopoulos  FORTH-ICS and University of Crete, Greece
  Cal Ribbens            Virginia Tech, USA

Program Committee

  Eduard Ayguade         Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
  Chris Baker            Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  Kevin Barker           Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  Filip Blagojevic       Hitachi Global Storage, USA
  Carter Edwards         Sandia National Laboratories, USA
  Narayan Ganesan        University of Delaware, USA
  Mike Heroux            Sandia National Laboratories, USA
  Ananth Kalyanaraman    Washington State University, USA
  Sven Karlsson          Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  Jakub Kurzak           University of Tennessee, USA
  Alexandros Stamatakis  Technical University of Munich, Germany
  Jeffrey Vetter         Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list