[hpc-announce] International Workshop on Runtime and Operating Systems for Supercomputers (ROSS 2011)

Kamil Iskra iskra at mcs.anl.gov
Mon Jan 31 18:17:06 CST 2011

[Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this email]


International Workshop on Runtime and Operating Systems for Supercomputers
ROSS 2011
May 31st, 2011, Tucson, Arizona, USA


The ROSS workshop, to be held as a full-day meeting at the ICS 2011
conference in Tucson, Arizona, focuses on principles and techniques to
design, implement, optimize, or operate runtime and operating systems for
supercomputers and massively parallel machines.


- OS and runtime system scalability on many-node and multi/many-core systems
- specialized OSs for Supercomputing
- distributed/hybrid/partitioned OSs and runtime systems for Supercomputing
- fault tolerance
- system noise analysis and prevention
- interaction between middleware, runtime system, and the OS
- I/O resource management and forwarding
- parallel job startup
- memory management and emerging memory technologies
- real-time considerations for Supercomputing


Submission deadline:	March 21, 2011
Author notification:	April 18, 2011

The ROSS workshop proceedings will be published electronically along with
the ICS conference proceedings via the ACM Digital Library. Submitted
manuscripts should be formatted using the ACM SIG proceedings alternate
format. Extensive documentation can be found at the ACM site
(http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates). The maximum
length is 8 pages. All papers must be in English. Please visit the workshop
website for further instructions and the submission link.

The best papers of the workshop will be considered for inclusion in a
special issue of International Journal of High Performance Computing
Applications (IJHPCA).


Kamil Iskra          Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Torsten Hoefler      University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA


Henri Bal, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
Pete Beckman, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Patrick Bridges, University of New Mexico, USA
Ron Brightwell, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Luiz De Rose, Cray, Inc., USA
Christian Engelmann, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Yutaka Ishikawa, University of Tokyo, Japan
Ron Minnich, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Rob Ross, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Martin Schulz, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Thomas Sterling, Louisiana State University, USA
Bronis de Supinski, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Jesper Larsson Traeff, University of Vienna, Austria
Robert Wisniewski, IBM Research, USA

Contact us at ross2011 at easychair.org if you have any questions.

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list