[hpc-announce] P2S2 2010 Call for Participation

Chen, Yong cheny at ornl.gov
Sat Sep 4 08:07:42 CDT 2010

[We apologize if you receive multiple copies of this call.]

Dear Colleagues,

The final program for the Third International Workshop on Parallel
Programming Models and Systems Software for High-end Computing (P2S2)
is now available on the workshop website:

This year the workshop features 10 highly relevant technical talks
describing improvements to parallel programming models and systems
software in the past year. The workshop also features a technical
panel titled: "Is Hybrid Programming a Bad Idea Whose Time has Come?"
where a wide range of high profile panelists in this area will argue
on programming issues in the hybrid/heterogeneous computing era.

We would like to welcome you all to attend this year's P2S2 workshop
and look forward to seeing you on September 13th, in San Diego,


Opening Remarks, Time: 08:45am - 09:00am

Session 1: Communication, Time: 9:00am - 10:30am
Session Chair: Vinod Tipparaju, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    -   "Efficient Zero-Copy Noncontiguous I/O for Globus on InfiniBand",
Weikuan Yu and Jeffrey Vetter
    -   "Scaling Linear Algebra Kernels using Remote Memory Access",
Manojkumar Krishnan, Robert Lewis and Abhinav Vishnu
    -   "High Performance Design and Implementation of Nemesis Communication
Layer for Two-sided and One-Sided MPI Semantics in MVAPICH2",
Miao Luo, Sreeram Potluri, Ping Lai, Emilio P. Mancini, Hari Subramoni,
Krishna Kandalla, Sayantan Sur and Dhabaleswar K. Panda.

Session 2: Panel: Is Hybrid Programming a Bad Idea Whose Time has Come?
Time: 11:00am - 12:30pm
Panel Moderator: Pavan Balaji, Argonne National Laboratory
    Bronis de Supinski, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
    Wu-chun Feng, Virginia Tech
    Allen Maloney, University of Oregon
    Taisuke Boku, Tsukuba University, Japan
    Vijay Saraswat, IBM Research

Session 3: Programming Models and Performance Evaluation, Time: 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Session Chair: Hui Jin, Illinois Institute of Technology
    -   "Performance Modeling for AMD GPUs",
Ryan Taylor and Xiaoming Li
    -   "A Hybrid Programming Model for Compressible Gas Dynamics using OpenCL",
Ben Bergen, Marcus Daniels and Paul Weber
    -   "Message Driven Programming with S-Net: Methodology and Performance",
Frank Penczek, Sven-Bodo Scholz, Alex Shafarenko, Chun-Yi Chen, Nader Bagherzadeh,
Clemens Grelck and JungSook Yang
    -   "Implementation and Performance Evaluation of XcalableMP: A Parallel Programming
Language for Distributed Memory Systems",
Jinpil Lee and Mitsuhisa Sato

Session 4: Scheduling and Cache Management, Time: 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Session Chair: Weikuan Yu, Auburn University
    -   "Scheduling a ~100,000 core Supercomputer for maximum utilization and capability",
Phil Andrews, Patricia Kovatch, Victor Hazlewood and Troy Baer.
    -   "Improving the Effectiveness of Context-based Prefetching with Multi-order Analysis",
Yong Chen, Huaiyu Zhu, Hui Jin and Xian-He Sun.
    -   "Hierarchical Load Balancing for Large Scale Supercomputers",
Gengbin Zheng, Esteban Meneses, Abhinav Bhatele and Laxmikant V. Kale.

 * Pavan Balaji, Argonne National Laboratory
 * Abhinav Vishnu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

 * Yong Chen, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

 * William D. Gropp, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
 * Dhabaleswar K. Panda, Ohio State University
 * Vijay Saraswat, IBM Research

 * Ahmad Afsahi, Queen's University
 * George Almasi, IBM Research
 * Taisuke Boku, Tsukuba University
 * Ron Brightwell, Sandia National Laboratory
 * Franck Cappello, INRIA, France
 * Yong Chen, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
 * Ada Gavrilovska, Georgia Tech
 * Torsten Hoefler, Indiana University
 * Zhiyi Huang, University of Otago, New Zealand
 * Hyun-Wook Jin, Konkuk University, Korea
 * Zhiling Lan, Illinois Institute of Technology
 * Doug Lea, State University of New York at Oswego
 * Jiuxing Liu, IBM Research
 * Heshan Lin, Virginia Tech
 * Guillaume Mercier, INRIA, France
 * Scott Pakin, Los Alamos National Laboratory
 * Fabrizio Petrini, IBM Research
 * Bronis de Supinksi, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
 * Sayantan Sur, Ohio State University
 * Rajeev Thakur, Argonne National Laboratory
 * Vinod Tipparaju, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
 * Jesper Traff, NEC, Europe
 * Weikuan Yu, Auburn University

If you have any questions, please contact us at p2s2-chairs at mcs.anl.gov

More information about the hpc-announce mailing list