[Swift-user] win an Apple iPad 2 tablet -- Call for Participation at MTAGS11, co-located with Supercomputing 2011 on Monday November 14th

Ioan Raicu iraicu at cs.iit.edu
Sun Nov 6 01:44:21 CDT 2011

Call for Participation

The 4th ACM Workshop on Many-Task Computing on Grids and Supercomputers (MTAGS) 2011
November 14th, 2011
Seattle, Washington, USA

Co-located with with IEEE/ACM International Conference for
High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis (SC11)


The 4th workshop on Many-Task Computing on Grids and Supercomputers (MTAGS) will
provide the scientific community a dedicated forum for presenting new research,
development, and deployment efforts of large-scale many-task computing (MTC)
applications on large scale clusters, Grids, Supercomputers, and Cloud Computing
infrastructure. We have assembled an excellent workshop program, with a keynote,
a panel, and 6 peer-reviewed papers, and 1 invited paper. The full program can be
found at http://datasys.cs.iit.edu/events/MTAGS11/program.html.

Program highlights:
Keynote: "Mixing Cloud and Grid Resources for Many Task Computing"
	Professor David Abramson, Monash University

Panel: "Many-Task Computing meets Exascales"
	Dr. Dan Reed, Corporate Vice President of Technology Policy and Strategy,
			Microsoft Research
	Professor David Abramson, Monash University
	Professor Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee
	Dr. Daniel S. Katz, Senior Fellow in the Computation Institute, University
			of Chicago&  Argonne National Lab.

     "Parallel High-resolution Climate Data Analysis using Swift"
		Matthew Woitaszek, John Dennis, Taleena Sines
     "Riding the Elephant: Managing Ensembles with Hadoop"
		Elif Dede, Madhusudan Govindaraju, Dan Gunter, Lavanya Ramakrishnan
     "A Dependency-Driven Formulation of Parareal: Parallel-in-Time Solution of PDEs
	as a Many-Task Application"
		Wael Elwasif, Samantha Foley, David Bernholdt, Lee Berry, D. Samaddar,
		David Newman, Raul Sanchez
     "Design and Implementation of ‘Many Parallel Task’ Hybrid Subsurface Model"
		Khushbu Agarwal, Jared Chase, Karen Schuchardt, Timothy Scheibe, Bruce
		Palmer, Todd Elsethagen
     "Toward Scalable I/O Architecture for Exascale Systems"
		Yong Chen
     "High Performance Matrix Inversion Based on LU Factorization for Multicore Architectures"
		Jack Dongarra, Mathieu Faverge, Hatem Ltaief, Piotr Luszczek
     "MATE-EC2: A Middleware for Processing Data with AWS", Invited Paper
		Tekin Bicer, David Chiu, Gagan Agrawal

Everyone who attends the MTAGS 2011 workshop is welcome to participate in the attendee
prize giveaway. This includes all attendees, speakers, panelists, program committee
members, and steering committee members. To be eligible to win, you must register
online at https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?hl=en_US&formkey=dDdKdU84VHdPODgyUThLakQ0QUdmS2c6MA#gid=0,
with your name, affiliation, and email address, and must be present at 5:30PM on the
day of the workshop (11-14-11) to win.

Committee Members
Workshop Chairs
* Ioan Raicu, Illinois Institute of Technology&  Argonne National Laboratory
* Ian Foster, University of Chicago&  Argonne National Laboratory
* Yong Zhao, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China

Steering Committee
* David Abramson, Monash University, Australia
* Jack Dongara, University of Tennessee, USA
* Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, USA
* Manish Parashar, Rutgers University, USA
* Marc Snir, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA
* Xian-He Sun, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
* Weimin Zheng, Tsinghua University, China

Technical Committee
* Roger Barga, Microsoft Research, USA
* Mihai Budiu, Microsoft Research, USA
* Rajkumar Buyya, University of Melbourne, Australia
* Catalin Dumitrescu, Fermi National Labs, USA
* Alexandru Iosup, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
* Florin Isaila, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
* Michael Isard, Microsoft Research, USA
* Kamil Iskra, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
* Hui Jin, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
* Daniel S. Katz, University of Chicago, USA
* Tevfik Kosar, Louisiana State University, USA
* Zhiling Lan, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
* Reagan Moore, University of North Carolina, Chappel Hill, USA
* Jose Moreira, IBM Research, USA
* Marlon Pierce, Indiana University, USA
* Judy Qiu, Indiana University, USA
* Lavanya Ramakrishnan, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
* Matei Ripeanu, University of British Columbia, Canada
* Alain Roy, University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
* Edward Walker, Whitworth University, USA
* Mike Wilde, University of Chicago&  Argonne National Laboratory, USA
* Matthew Woitaszek, The University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, USA
* Ken Yocum, University of California at San Diego, USA
* Zhifeng Yun, Louisiana State University, USA

Ioan Raicu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT)
Guest Research Faculty, Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)
Data-Intensive Distributed Systems Laboratory, CS/IIT
Distributed Systems Laboratory, MCS/ANL
Cel:    1-847-722-0876
Office: 1-312-567-5704
Email:  iraicu at cs.iit.edu
Web:    http://www.cs.iit.edu/~iraicu/
Web:    http://datasys.cs.iit.edu/

More information about the Swift-user mailing list